Posted by: heisourstrongtower | September 11, 2012

Additional Assignment for Unglued Journals

Yesterday i was in my local TJ Maxx and I was browsing through the section where they have the thank-you notes, books, journals…etc., and God directed me to pick up a book called…”Discovering the Power of Generosity” by Debbie Macomber. There was no price tag on the book, but God was nudging me to buy it and so I placed it in my cart with some other items that had caught my attention and made my way to the front to pay for my purchases. I had already placed a limit, in my mind, for how much I was willing to pay for that little book…$2.99.

I handed the items to the clerk and told her the book had no price. She took the book and said she would go find out the price. She came back and told me…”That book is $2.99.”

Well, of course it was only $2.99. (One of my little God wink moments in the day).

I read the first chapter this morning during my quiet time and it spoke to my heart in a profound way. The first chapter was worth the 2.99 I spent. It is all about gratitude and being thankful in every circumstance.

Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Having an attitude of gratitude can give us the incentive to see life in a new way. An attitude of gratitude can give us the incentive to see God in a new way. An attitude of gratitude can give us the incentive to default to thanking in trying times instead of ungluing in trying times.

There is actually a scientific study that speaks to people keeping a gratitude journal. In an article that was published in Guideposts, Stephen Post, PhD, a professor of bioethics at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, shared five things he discovered about gratitude.

1. Gratitude defends. Just fifteen minutes a day focusing on the things you’re grateful for will significantly increase your body’s natural antibodies.

2. Gratitude sharpens. Naturally grateful people are more focused mentally and are measurable less vulnerable to clinical depression.

3. Gratitude calms. A grateful state of mind induces a physiological state called resonance that’s associated with healthier blood pressure and heart rate.

4. Gratitude strengthens. Caring for others is draining. But grateful caregivers are healthier and more capable than less grateful ones.

5. Gratitude heals. Recipients of donated organs who have the most grateful attitudes heal faster.

The song, “Count Your Blessings” has been running through my head as I read about gratitude this morning. So many of us our going through our own personal struggles and sometimes I think we make the problem worse because we are concentrating on IT rather than all the other things that are right and good in our life.

No matter how big or small your problem might be…God is in control and He already has the solution figured out. Let me repeat that…God is in control and He already has the solution figured out. Isn’t that reason enough to start praising Him in this circumstance???? You and I may not know how the story is going to play out, but we do know the ONE that does know how it will end and we know we can trust Him for a good result…whether we recognize it in the moment or later on in life.

So, my unglued friends, here is what I am adding to your weekly assignments…

At some point in your day write down five things for which you are grateful in your “unglued” journal.

Practice praise. Nothing opens our eyes to the gifts we have been given and that are right before our eyes than focusing on the Giver of all good gifts. Find at least one new thing to praise God for each day.

Thank God in all circumstances…write a prayer of thanksgiving and praise for all of your circumstances in your journal. Do you need to use this information I have shared this morning for your Mandate to Change? Write that amendment or, if you have not written your Mandate…add this to the list of items you want to place into your covenant with God.

One more thing…these assignments are totally optional for each of you. Although I would love to be able to do this…I am not going to drop into your house unexpectedly and ask to see your journal nor are you going to be graded on any of this…not by me. It is totally between you and God how many of these assignments you take on.

I would like for you to share from time to time how it is going and to offer suggestions or to just let us know what God has placed on your heart through this journey. I am going to kick this off right now by suggesting a post that you can share with us today. Share one thing that you write in your journal for which you are grateful.

Ready….set, GO!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

