Posted by: heisourstrongtower | September 5, 2012

Some Unglued Revelations from My Day

I promised to be forthright with all of you as a part of my “Mandate to Change.”  Here I am with the empty ice cream bowl sitting on the table next to me.  For all of you who journeyed with me through Made to Crave…I have been eating ice cream again.  The thing is it is tied to our new study too…”Unglued.”

Those unglued moments do not just lead to what comes out of our mouths…come on let’s be honest and real here.

Drum roll please…UNGLUED MOMENTS CAN LEAD TO WHAT GOES INTO OUR MOUTHS ALSO!!!!!

What else did I realize today with God’s help…that although I am not an emotional eater…I am a stress eater.

Uh???  I know I can just see you all scratching your heads.  My definition of emotional eating is when there are problems within my family.  Disagreements or arguments, even not directly related to me personally.  Any disturbance within my immediate family that makes my stomach tighten and my heart hurt…if I went for the ice cream in those moments I would categorize myself as an emotional eater.  I do not do this; I am unable to eat in these types of situations.

However, when my stress is coming from outside sources…I am defaulting to food, specifically ice cream.  I know how to combat the problem; after all…I was successful for seven months.  I have unfortunately, forgotten over the past week or so that my strength in this situation is no different from my strength in other situations; my strength is in the Lord.

My flesh and my strength…they are going to fail, but GOD is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. (Psalm 73:26)

As my pastor shared last night…you cannot fight flesh in your flesh.  You can only fight flesh with the belt of truth.  I have to remember that I am sanctified by His truth. His word IS my truth. (John 17:17)

I need to speak God’s truth in those moments that lead me to the freezer and a bowl of ice cream.  I need to speak God’s truth OUTLOUD in the moment of stress and declare that I am the one the Lord loves and I do not need that ice cream…get thee behind me Satan.

One more revelation for you before I close in prayer, this is a good one and gave me the strength I needed to share this with all of you.  My pastor was full of powerful truths for us last night; this is one of my favorites.

“I don’t need to cover-up what Jesus has already covered.” Isn’t that a great word to use for those moments of ungluedness…no need to cover them up or hide them from anyone…confess them, bring them into the open, Jesus already has them covered!

Lord:

Thank You that I do not have to cover-up my flaws or weaknesses because You have them covered.  Thank You that I am free to be real and honest and that I have Your word to speak truth into my life.  I ask that You help me to be strong in You and I do not need to find my strength in a bowl of ice cream.  You are the strength of my heart and my portion forever.  In Jesus name, Amen.

I thought I would also share the new song by the Planetshaker’s that we learned this weekend.  Do it again, Do it again, Jesus!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

