Posted by: heisourstrongtower | September 2, 2012

Jesus Calling – September 2nd

Jesus Calling for Kids – September 2nd
AN ADVENTURE WITH ME

Living your life while depending on Me is a great adventure. Most people – grown-ups and kids alike – scurry around trying to do things their own way. Some are huge successes; others fail miserably. But both miss out on what life is supposed to be – an adventure with Me.

When you give control of your life to Me, I open your eyes so that you can see Me at work in the world. Where others see “coincidences,” you see My wonderful work – even miracles at times. And where others see only an everyday happening, you see Me.

Live each day just watching for what I will do next. You are in Me and I am in you – and through Me you learn to truly live. This is the amazing adventure I offer you.

Jesus Calling – September 2nd

LIVING IN DEPENDENCE ON ME is a glorious adventure. Most people scurry around busily, trying to accomplish things through their own strength and ability. Some succeed enormously; others fail miserably. But both groups miss what life is meant to be: living and working in collaboration with Me.

When you depend on Me continually, your whole perspective changes. You see miracles happening all around, while others see only natural occurrences and “coincidences.” You begin each day with joyful expectation, watching to see what I will do. You accept weakness as a gift from Me, knowing that My Power plugs in most readily to consecrated weakness. You keep your plans tentative, knowing that My plans are far superior. You consciously live, move, and have your being in Me, desiring that I live in you. I in you, and you in Me. This is the intimate adventure I offer you.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me… For when I am weak, then I am strong.
—2 Corinthians 12:9–10

““For in him we live and move and have our being.”
—Acts 17:28″

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.
—Colossians 2:6–7

“On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.”
—John 14:20

Reflections:
I decided a few years back that there are NO coincidences and that God works everything out in the manner that is best for all of us. I call coincidences, “God-wink” moments. And I have one to share with you from this past week at my house.

My cellular service is through AT&T and I am not due for an upgrade until December of this year, but my battery was not holding a charge. I was supposed to get a new phone in May of this year and if that had happened on-time…I would not have a battery problem, but due to an early up-grade last year they pushed me back six months.

So I called AT&T and explained my problem. I told them that I was having battery problems and I went through the upgrade situation from last year and that I was not informed that this would push my upgrade date back 6 months. First God-wink moment…with very little effort they agreed to upgrade my phone.

Now I just needed to decide which phone I wanted. BIG PROBLEM…I will not pay for a data plan on my phone. I have enough access to the internet through my laptop and my Nook; I do not need to add that third distraction. So, I just won’t go there. However, I like a phone that is stylish…okay I admit it, I am phone vain. There is not much out there for you if you don’t buy a smart phone.

I started looking at the offerings on-line and I saw one phone that would fit my criteria; the LG Xpression. It was stylish…easy texting features and no data plan required. It was $49.99 and I decided that I would go ahead and order that one…whoops, the lady on the other end of the phone said, “That does require a data-plan. I’m sorry.”

My answer, “It does not say so on your web-site.”

“Sorry, that must be an oversight on our part.”

“Well, I guess I will go to the AT&T store and see what they have and I will get back to you.”

AT&T store agreed with me, that the LG Xpression did not require data, however they could not sell me the phone because their database could not see that the customer service database had approved an early upgrade…so cost of the phone would be much higher. Back home I go for another round of phone calls. (Is it time to come unglued yet?)

I get on the phone with the representative that I was speaking with before and I share what I have learned. She does not agree with the store…she is insistent that the Xpression requires a data plan. (I will admit it…unglued was how I was beginning to feel).

My son decided to take the phone at this point…he has an idea. “Send my mom a sim card, he said the string of letters and numbers for the sim card he wanted them to send, and I will give her my old phone to use.”

“Sir, does that phone require a data plan.”

“Just send my Mom that sim card. It is the one that she needs to get the operating system up and running. I own the phone, you have the information necessary to send the card, please do so.”

“Sir, did you have to purchase the data plan for that phone to operate.”

Uh, Oh!!! Unglued 21-year-old moment coming right up.

I won’t go into too much detail, but suffice it to say Keith listed every sim card AT&T has in their vast arsenal and told the woman that she was not dealing with the average run of the mill customer. That he has done his homework when it comes to cell phones and sim cards and AT&T’s coverage and he is done playing games with her. “Escalate this call please.” Meaning…I want to talk to your supervisor.

Escalating the call…did no good. Still the same answer about the LG Xpression needing a data plan and no dice on sending out the sim card without divulging the make and model of the phone it would go into. Which would reveal that, yes, his old phone was one that they sold with a data plan.

At the termination of this call…we had been speaking to AT&T a total of 4 hours off and on…it really was time for an unglued Patti moment, but I was staying relatively calm. Keith terminated the call and went to take his dog for a walk to calm down. I picked up my phone and made one more call to AT&T.

A young woman named Sara, answered my call. I immediately felt that this call was going to go in the right direction.

“How may I help you?”

“Well, I am not sure. I have a few questions for you first and we will see from there. Do you see that I have been approved for an early upgrade in your system?”

“Yes, I do.”

“Great, are you able to send me a sim card, gave her the information, without knowing the make and model of phone it goes into?”

“No, I would need that information.”

“Okay, last question…does the LG Xpression require a data plan?

“No, it does not.”

“Great, you will be able to help me then.”

I then explained the situation up to this point and how I had been told over and over again that the LG Xpression required a data plan. This issue would have been resolved on the first day if the first person I spoke to had not insisted that it did.

So would you like to know the rest of my God wink moments…

Remember the Xpression was going to cost me $49.99 on the first day…on this day – FREE!

In order to activate the phone they charge $36…Sara said – FREE!

Shipping of the phone was going to be around $12…Sara said – FREE!

This was quite an adventure, that is for sure.  God has a better plan for my life than I do and certainly a better plan than AT&T does. I was also provided with the perfect ending to share with Keith when he returned from his walk. He called me lucky…I told him God was watching out for me and was blessing me, no luck about it!! God was winking at me and reminding me that there are NO coincidences. ONLY HIM!

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

