Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 31, 2012

Jesus Calling – August 31st

Jesus Calling for Kids – August 31st
Have You Heard?

Have you heard? I use your weaknesses to make you stronger?

That sounds backward doesn’t it? The world says that the strong are those who don’t have any weaknesses, the strong are the people who do it al on their own, who rely on their own strength and smarts. But I tell you that there will come a time when those people will run out of strength and their own wisdom will fail them.

My Way is different. I use your unexpected problems to urge you to seek My guidance. Your weaknesses are not punishment. Rather, struggles are a gift that helps you learn to depend on Me. I want you to trust Me and lean on Me – rather than on your own understanding.

When you lean on Me, you are truly strong. Because My Strength never runs out, and My wisdom never fails.


James 4:13-15 – Look here, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we are going to a certain town and will stay there a year. We will do business there and make a profit.” How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog—it’s here a little while, then it’s gone. What you ought to say is, “If the Lord wants us to, we will live and do this or that.”

Proverbs 3:5 – Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
do not depend on your own understanding.


Isaiah 40:28-31 – Have you never heard?
Have you never understood?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of all the earth.
He never grows weak or weary.
No one can measure the depths of his understanding.
He gives power to the weak
and strength to the powerless.
Even youths will become weak and tired,
and young men will fall in exhaustion.
But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
They will walk and not faint.

Jesus Calling – August 31st

GROW STRONG IN YOUR WEAKNESS. Some of My children I’ve gifted with abundant strength and stamina. Others, like you, have received the humble gift of frailty. Your fragility is not a punishment, nor does it indicate lack of faith. On the contrary, weak ones like you must live by faith, depending on Me to get you through the day. I am developing your ability to trust Me, to lean on Me rather than on your understanding. Your natural preference is to plan out your day, knowing what will happen when. My preference is for you to depend on Me continually, trust Me to guide you and strengthen you as needed. This is how you grow strong in your weakness.

Reflections:

Do you remember the game show that used to be on television and the rude, obnoxious British woman would declare, “YOU…are the weakest link! Goodbye!”?

I could not help but think of this game show as I read the devotion in Jesus Calling for Kids. I was remembering the weakest link taking the walk of shame and how humiliating that must have felt. The weakest links are definitely NOT celebrated or encouraged in our society.

I am so glad that God does not play the game that way. I am so glad that it is the weakest link inside of me that draws me closer to God. He does not push me away when I am weak, He draws me nearer to Him. I do not have to take the path of shame and humiliation because of my weak areas.

I get to take the path of redemption and love because He meets me on that path where I am weak. He is taking my weakness and making it into a testimony to His greatness. I will praise Him all the more because “I am one of His weakest links!!!” And I am proud of it! Jesus, please use me in my weakness to further Your Kingdom purposes. Amen

So let’s join together and sing my favorite worship song based upon my favorite Bible verses; Isaiah 40:28-31 WOO HOO; this is just a morning to sing.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

