Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 26, 2012

Help Me, Lord – Trusting God Week 12; Devotion 1 & Jesus Calling – August 26th

Today’s Truth:

But I trust in You, Lord; I say, “You are my God”…Let Your face shine on your servant; save me in Your unfailing Love.  Psalm 31:14, 16

Girlfriend to Girlfriend:

Both the GIG devotional today and these devotions from Jesus Calling spoke to me about a situation in my own life last night.  I was so focused on the problem, that I took my focus off of God…never a good idea in any situation.  But then, we already know that…we just forget it sometimes.

Jesus Calling for Kids – August 26th

Messy Days

The world around you is a mess. Crime, wars, drugs – there’s bad new every time you turn on the television. And sometimes that mess invades your day. A friend betrays you, something is stolen out of your locker, or someone you know is hurt. But what is happening around you doesn’t have to shake you up. 

Trust Me – even in the midst of a messy day. When you start to feel stressed, stop focusing on the problems. Instead, reach out to Me. Let Me show you things from My point of view. Remember that My Peace -the Peace that I give you- isn’t affected by the mess of this world. 

Don’t be afraid and don’t be troubled. Seek My Face, and I will lift you up above the mess.

John 14:27 – “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid. 

John 16:33 – “I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” 

Psalm 105:4 – Search for the Lord and for his strength; continually seek him. 

Jesus Calling – August 26th 

TRUST ME in the midst of a messy day. Your inner calm – Your Peace in My Presence- need not be shaken by what is going on around you. Though you live in this temporal world, your innermost being is rooted and grounded in eternity. When you start to feel stressed, detach yourself from the disturbances around you. Instead of desperately striving to maintain order and control in your little world, relax and remember that circumstances cannot touch My Peace. 

Seek My Face, and I will share My mind with you, opening your eyes to see things from My perspective. Do not let your heart be troubled, and do not be afraid. The Peace I give is sufficient for you.

My Reflections:

Welcome to my messy world. My evening was pretty messy last night AND in all places…church. Peter, Josh and I went to church last night…yes; praise the Lord, Joshua was able to attend church last night. His prayers and your prayers lifted to God healed him and we went to church. The evening started out good…and progressively went downhill.

We started off by dropping Josh off to his service and the first thing Joshua did was share his story with the teachers. It was such a blessing to watch him tell them, “I was sick this morning, but now I am better. I am better because I said a prayer to Jesus and He healed me.” The teachers were so thrilled with his testimony and their enthusiasm provided positive incentive for him to continue to take “all things” to God in prayer.

Too bad I did not take that incentive into my own worship time…can anyone say messy church moment? Peter and I went into the sanctuary and sat down. He decided to tell me what he thought was a funny story; at the expense of my mom and I, and I just did not find it as funny as he did. He told me that he had helped my mom in with her groceries earlier in the day and my dad said, “Peter, don’t spoil her. She is going to expect me to help her carry them in now.”

Peter’s answer to my dad, “Don’t worry Frank, I don’t do it at my house.  Only here.” He then shared with me how much he and my dad laughed together over their little joke. Why I became offended by all of this…I truly do not know. I could offer you excuses and justifications…but I have promised not to do that, I can only offer you this, I was offended. VERY OFFENDED! I wish that it had ended there but, no, I then had to say, “Well, you continue to laugh over not helping your wife and my dad needs to continue to laugh over not helping his wife and the two of you make sure that you do continue to be nice to women that you are not married to.” WOW! Where did that come from? Oh, yeah….My unguarded tongue! (I should have focused on the fact that he helped my mom with her groceries AND that he and my dad were enjoying each others company).

Peter decided to become offended by my words. Very offended and he gifted me with some words from his unguarded tongue and, at this point, I decided my tongue needed a time out. I apologized for what I said and then for the majority of the worship time tried to make my heart right with God.

It was not an easy thing for me to do. I did not write down the songs that we sang…because I was not really singing them, but they were appropriate to the circumstance; trust me. I was pretty much a mess and my heart was very troubled. I was crying out to God and asking Him to give me His Peace. The other unfortunate part in all of this…I did not have any tissue in my purse.

These devotionals today are speaking to me about what happened last night…I was not focusing on God or His point of view. I was not seeking His Peace or His face. My mind, my tongue and my heart were NOT aligned with God…I was wrong. I needed to be more like Joshua and remember that Jesus is the healer of “all things.” I needed to filter, filter, filter and go to HIM first before I react. I need to TRUST GOD with every part of my life. He will see me through.

I’m not gonna fuss

I’m not gonna whine

I gonna trust

That Jesus will see me through! Amen

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

