Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 21, 2012

Unglued On-Line Group Bible Study Ground Rules and Weekly Assignments Explanation

I will begin adding ladies to our group – G.L.U.E. God Loves Us Eternally – on September 1!  The weeks leading up to the start date of our study, we will be getting acquainted with each other.  I will be sharing “ice-breaker” devotions with the group and there will be a question to answer at the end of each devotion.  I do this because I think there needs to be a level of trust amongst us before we begin sharing about our “unglued” moments.

You are going to need a journal to use throughout the study of this book.  I would recommend that you buy one that appeals to you, which will hopefully make you anxious to get it out each day and use it. I am also going to suggest that you buy some brightly colored ink pens to write with in your journal, I like to have some fun while I am learning, how about you?   For those of you who have purchased the book – highlighters would be a great idea!  For those of you, like me, who have the book on your Nook or Kindle – I recommend index cards.  I started with 13 cards and I wrote Unglued – Chapter (#) on the top line and then under it I wrote the name of the chapter.  I then wrote quotes and verses that spoke to me from the chapter on the index card.  I have been adding more index cards per chapter – many things are speaking to me.

I have been working on perfecting the on-line study groups that I facilitate.  I know that many of us get into a study group and we find verses, pictures and songs that move us and speak to us about what we are reading, and we want to share these with the group.  It used to be so difficult to find the assignments through all of the other posts on the page…not anymore!  You may post away on the page within our group, as long as what you are posting is edifying and encouraging and is not offensive.  I will be creating documents and you will be able to find each week’s assignment under the files tab on our page.

I will title each assignment document in the same manner.  The date the assignment is posted will be first followed by the week of the study and the word “assignments” and then the title of the chapter for that week.  For example…September 17th – Week 1 Assignment – An Invitation to Imperfect Progress.

There will be a Word of the Week and an assignment to go along with that word.  There will also be a Memory Verse and it will have its own assignment each week.  Included in your weekly assignments will be a daily to-do list.  Don’t worry these should fit into your regular quiet time schedule.  There will also be one or two weekly exercises that will help you deal with what the current chapter is focusing on in our unglued moments.

Prayer requests are a huge part of our studies. We are bombarded every day with problems because we know that in this life we will have trouble. God has not promised us a problem-free life and it seems that as soon as we are working toward a closer walk with God…satan moves in to try to distract and confuse us from our objective. Your prayer requests are wanted and it is an honor to pray for each of them. Never hesitate to ask for prayers, no matter how small you might think your request might be…God wants us to bring everything to Him and stand in agreement with each other for those requests. I know for a fact that we have some strong prayer warriors amongst the women in this study. They have prayed for me and I have seen some mountains moved because of their prayers.

Please remember to be respectful of each other and know that we may not all always be in agreement. And you know what…that is okay! You do not have to agree with everything that you read in our study book, or with everything that I share or that someone else shares. I ask that when you are not in agreement with something…let us know, respectfully and in love. You may just bring some insight that is needed to help us in this study and to help us with accountability. I am only human and I am far from perfect…I welcome constructive criticism and I want to be held accountable, always in a loving manner and as the holy spirit guides you.

If you have any questions or concerns about what I have shared in this document…PLEASE feel free to send me a private message on facebook and I will be happy to discuss it with you further. I want each of us to get the most from the study of “Unglued” and that is why I am trying to set up some ground rules and expectations for this study.

I am looking forward to this study and to getting to know those of you who are new, to Many Strands On-line Studies, better. Let’s be in prayer together over the next several weeks inviting God into this study and that His will be made known to each of us through the words we read and share.

And don’t forget that you already have an assignment that is due on September 17th…the FIRST day of our study!  If you need to know what the assignment is…click the link below and it will take you right to it.

https://heisourstrongtower.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/unglued-homework/

If you are interested in being a part of this study…you want to click the link below, it will take you to the event I created on facebook and you can ask to join.

http://www.facebook.com/events/373323036071395/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

