Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 20, 2012

Unglued Homework

As I am reading the chapters in “Unglued” the one thing that is sticking out to me is that maybe Lysa needed to reverse the order of her books.  Maybe Unglued should have come before Made To Crave.  We just might be a different kind of “stuffer” in those ‘unglued” moments.  Do any of you relate to this thought?

I am seeing many correlations between MTC and “Unglued.”  The same principle applies in both books…we are made to crave God and it is only through His strength that we can gain control of what controls us; whether we decide “to put something into our mouth or allow something to come out of our mouth”.

If you were in the group I facilitated during MTC you are aware of the plan God brought to me that included a “Mandate to Change.”  If you weren’t in that group you are probably wondering what exactly “Mandate to Change” means.  I will be happy to share that with you right now.

“I believe that if you have decided to go forward in this study that God has issued a mandate to you for changing your current lifestyle. I would like for each of you to consider what you think God is asking you to change and write out a resolution or contract between you and God. You may keep this between you and God or you can share it with the group. Whether you share or not, Wednesday’s we will be lifting each other up in prayer asking God to help us in meeting the objectives we have set for ourselves in these contracts/resolutions with God.”

You are going to need to spend some time in prayer with the Lord asking Him to show you the areas that need to change in your life so that you have more control, through HIM, over your “unglued” moments.  Write this contract or resolution down in your journal; date it and sign it…this should be the first entry in your “Unglued” journal.  I would like for you to have this completed by the beginning of our study.  I guess this means you have some homework…and since I realize you are going to need some time to complete this assignment I will share this with you now to give you plenty of time.

Here is what I have written, so far, as my “mandate to change”.  I may be modifying this over the next several weeks and I will share it, in its entirety, by our September 17th start date.

Lord, I solemnly promise that I am going to declare Colossians 1:17 over my life.  I agree that You existed before anything else and that You hold all of creation together.  I recognize that apart from you I can do nothing (John 15:5).  And with these verses in mind I hand control of my life over to You.  I no longer wish to live a life of unglued moments.  I want to live a life that is centered on Your gospel truths and centered on You.  I will no longer offer excuses or justifications; I am solely responsible for my “unglued” moments.  I agree to be held accountable for my actions and reactions.  I promise to be honest and forthright to the ladies within this study group about my struggles; taking full responsibility for those times when I blow it.  I promise to pray daily for the women doing this study…whether they are in this group or are a part of another on-line study group that I am aware of.  Lord, I invite you to help me deal with my unglued moments in a manner that is pleasing to You and I ask that You convict me for those moments when I am acting outside of Your will for my life.  It is in the name of Your Precious Son that I am signing this agreement.  Amen

Patti Taylor-Muzik

If you would like to be a part of this on-line study…click the link below and it will take you to the event invitation on facebook and ask to join.

http://www.facebook.com/events/373323036071395/

http://www.facebook.com/ManyStrandsOfOneAccordOnLineBibleStudies

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

