Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 14, 2012

I Am Not Called to be Indifferent

 

I am so blessed that my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ did not feel indifference to me.  I am so thankful that when I turned my back on Him…He still showed me His love and fought to make a difference of my life.

He relentlessly pursued me and when I was at my lowest point, crying out that I was all alone…He proved me wrong.  He wrapped me in His love and changed the course of my life and the life of my family through His love.

If I am going to be Jesus with skin on to this world, then indifference and hate cannot be a part of my vocabulary.  He made a difference in my life and I have to use His Love to make a difference in someone else’s life.  I cannot offer less to others than what He offered to me.

We have to stop offering each other excuses and justifications for turning our backs on people.  The world is hard, we need to be soft.  The world is hate: we need to be love.  The world is sad; we need to spread joy.  The world is dark; we need to point people to the One who can turn on the light.  The world conforms; we need to be transformed.

This past two weeks I have been on a journey…not quite the journey I thought I would be on, but I have felt a change come over my life.  I thought I would be counting every word that came out of my mouth for two weeks…I thought wrong.  It was not about the number of words I spoke it was about making those words count.

It was about allowing God to speak transforming words into my life and it was about the words I speak to my family and friends, am I speaking with a godly mentality or am I speaking with a mob mentality.  I want my words to point others to the cross, not make them question if my faith is real.

I think long and hard before I ever post a status to my page…I want people to read God into every word I share.  I was not thinking nearly as long or as hard about every word I spoke and the same rule needs to apply in both areas.  Whatever I speak and whatever I share should be true, noble, right, pure, lovely, and admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think, speak and share about such things (Philippians 4:8). 

God gave me a tool that I am using before I speak, post, text or email…I ask myself this question…”Are my words conforming or are they transforming?”  If I am conforming to this world…then I need to keep my mouth shut until what I have to share will help me or someone else to transform into the person God wants us to be.

“Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”  Romans 12:2 (NLT) 

Dear Lord,

I do not want to be indifferent in an indifferent world.  I want to make a difference in this indifferent world.   I pray that all I think, that all I speak and that all I share is transforming and not conforming to the ways of this world.  Help me to be all that You have created me to be.  Because I am NOT who I used to be, I am redeemed.  In the name of Jesus it is true, Amen

Responses

  1. love

  2. Amen!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

