Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 5, 2012

Many Strands of One Accord 52 Week Word Study – “DELIGHT”

I was going to wait until the end of the week to share Mary Lynn’s blog about her God word for this year and then…I read it again.  She told me to share this with all of you as I felt called…well, I felt called.  This message needs to be shared now for two reasons.

1. It is the perfect opening to our study of the word, “DELIGHT.”

2. Mary Lynn discusses that she found her word while following a Bible reading plan.  So this post is also a great lead-in to our 90-Day Bible Reading Challenge too!

This could only be God, friends!!  He is the founder and the foundation for all that we do…and where He leads…we must follow.

Thank you Mary Lynn for sharing your heart with all of us!!!

DELIGHT: My “God Word” for 2012! by Mary Lynn Benka-Tassotto

“One of my sweet sisters in Christ, and my online bible study prayer group leader, challenged each of us in the prayer group to find our “God word” for 2012… Here were the instructions:  “This is about picking a God word for change in your life in 2012.  Pick one word that God has laid on your heart that will be your word for change in 2012.”

What a fantastic idea!  In my excitement I immediately jotted down some possibilities:  commitment, discipline, surrender, dependence, trust… all great words, and all great “change words” that go with my New Year goals to be more consistent in my walk with the Lord, to make healthy choices, and to live in confidence in my identity as a child of God.  But somehow none of these words felt like they were truly MINE… my word from God.

So, I prayed… just a quickie… a simple plea:  “God, please show me my word.”

I did this as I lay in bed, just following midnight, on January 1st, as 2012 was brand new… a new year with unlimited potential…  And I was immediately drawn to my bible.  Being that one of my goals for the New Year is to be more consistent in my walk with God, I figured there was no better way to begin the year than by reading God’s word.

In my bible reading plan, my assigned reading for the day was Jeremiah 14-17.  In this passage, Jeremiah is in conversation with God who is threatening punishment on Judah for it’s wickedness and worshiping of false gods.  A conversation with God… God spoke directly to Jeremiah, and Jeremiah heard every word that God spoke to him!  And not only that… God listened to every word of Jeremiah’s!  And the best part:  then God answered Jeremiah!!!  How sweet would it be if I could hear God’s word as clearly as Jeremiah did?  How amazing would it be if God answered my simple plea for a “God word” from Him right away?  This was my desire as I continued to read in Chapter 15, and there it was…

I was shocked… amazed… stunned…and so joyful!  I didn’t expect it to happen so quickly.  I didn’t expect it to be so simple.  I guess I didn’t expect God to make it easy for me, but He did!

Jeremiah 15:16

When I discovered your words, I devoured them.
They are my joy and my heart’s DELIGHT,
for I bear your name,
O Lord God of Heaven’s Armies.

That entire verse, and the word…. DELIGHT… jumped off the page at me.  I literally felt my eyes drawn to that verse, resting on it, returning to it, and DELIGHTING in it.  I know without a doubt that God gave it to me, right then and there.  It wasn’t the word that I expected, but I was immediately excited about it, because God is amazing like that!  He is always giving me good gifts that are unexpected… and He never does things the way I think they should be done… He does them so much better!  :)

And so this is my “God word” for 2012:  DELIGHT!

And the verse it came to me in… I can so relate to this verse!  I, like Jeremiah, am discovering God’s word, His truths, and His promises.  I’m devouring them, for although I’ve heard them my entire life, they washed over me without penetrating until this past year.  They have given me hope, peace, comfort, encouragement and joy.  I am learning to live in confidence as a daughter of the King, and I also bear His name.  And all of this is my DELIGHT!

Really though, what is DELIGHT?  I would define it as pure joy.  DELIGHT can be used as both a noun and a verb… a thing or an action.  And it is a word that is found in abundance in God’s word.

One bible verse that contains my “God word” is an amazing promise:  “Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires.”  (Psalm 37:4)  How sweet that is…. but could it really be that simple?  Just DELIGHT in Him?

The next morning, Sunday January 1st, I went to worship.  I was feeling pretty certain of my “God word”, but this was confirmation.  My Pastor was teaching about the Benediction that day… The blessing found in Numbers 6:24-26… “The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.”  And why does God want to pour out blessing on us?  He blesses us because He DELIGHTS in us – His people!  There was that word again, DELIGHT, and I knew for certain that it was mine!  :)

And the truth is found in these verses: 
He led me to a place of safety; he rescued me because he delights in me.  (2 Samuel 22:20 and Psalm 18:19)

The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives.  (Psalm 37:23)

For the Lord delights in his people; he crowns the humble with victory.  (Psalm 149:4)

The Lord your God will then make you successful in everything you do. He will give you many children and numerous livestock, and he will cause your fields to produce abundant harvests, for the Lord will again delight in being good to you as he was to your ancestors.  (Deuteronomy 30:9)

WOW… He DELIGHTS… in ME!  He DELIGHTS in every detail of my life!  And because He DELIGHTS in me, He will bless me!  WOW!

So, I will pray over and meditate on this word for 2012.  And I will DELIGHT… in God’s word, in His promises, in His truths, in His creation, in His forgiveness, in His grace, in His commandments, in His faithfulness, in His unfailing love, and in the fact that He DELIGHTS in me!  But am I really up to this challenge?  Will I be able to find DELIGHT in all of the moments that lie ahead in 2012?  The difficult moments, the sad moments, the stressful moments, the fearful moments?  In my own strength, I will fail.  But, God’s word holds this promise for me, so I know that I can be victorious:

For the Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.  (Zephaniah 3:17)

Thank you, God, for DELIGHTING in me!”

 
Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

