Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 1, 2012

The Power of a Woman’s Silence – One Woman’s Challenge

Job 6:24 – “Teach me, and I will be silent; make me understand how I have gone astray.

Dear Family and Friends:

I have made an important decision today.  I am going to be limiting the number of words that I allow myself to speak each day.  You are receiving this letter because at one time or another you were a recipient of my words.  You may have been on the receiving end of positive words from me or I may have deposited some negative, hurtful words into your account.  And sometimes…although my motives may have been right, my words caused problems for you and your relationship with someone else.  For all those times that I did not share words that encouraged, built you up, supported you or poured life into you…I apologize, most sincerely.

I am going to be thinking about how many words per day I am going to be allowed to say over the next few days and on Monday, I will begin this personal challenge.  I will be writing down each sentence I voice, text, post as a comment or email starting tomorrow and I will tally them all, and divide by 4 to come up with an average.  That average will be my allotment of words each day.  I will start with a 2-week challenge and will extend it if I feel that I am not making progress with the lesson I feel God wants me to learn.

I am sharing this with you for several reasons.  First of all and most importantly, I need you to keep me accountable.  I need you to let me know each and every time the words I say or share are not edifying and supportive.  Secondly, you may ask me a question or share something with me, and it might be received with silence.  This is going to mean that I am either being very careful about the words I want to reply to you with or I have used up all my words for the day, and it is time for me to zip my lip.  When I have used up all my words I will use the universally accepted sign for locking my lips and throwing away the key.

For those of you who only communicate with me via social media or over the phone…I will be only limiting the words I post on my personal page and my comments on your personal pages.  I am not going to count the words that I share as a facilitator for any of the groups or for the Many Strands 52 Week Word Challenge or for the daily prayer that I share on Many Strands.

On Sunday I will share with each of you my word allotment.  I would like for you to hold me accountable for what I share too, please.  Also know that your encouragement, support and prayers will be appreciated by me.  I am going to find a picture to place on my personal page that will let each of you know when I have reached my limit each day.  This will let you know that I am being still and letting God’s truth fill me.

This is not the challenge that I was talking about on the Many Strands page today.  There is another challenge that God brought to me yesterday and I am still working on the details…Look for more information tomorrow.  If any of you are interested in joining me on this personal challenge, let me know!

Love to you all,

Patti

Dear Lord:

You know how much I need to meet this challenge.  You are aware of all the things that have been weighing on me and my mind since I started the study of “The Power of a Woman’s Words.  Today you brought the truth home to me very strongly; that there are times when silence is the only answer.  Lord, it is true…just because I have the knowledge does not mean that I need to share it.  It is also true, Lord that a relationship between two people, even if they are my children, is between the two people.  They must navigate and come to terms with how it looks, not me.  I pray that you hold me accountable for my words too.  Convict me when my speech is less than edifying.  Convict me when I interfere  and try to influence other people’s relationships.  Convict me when I am not doing exactly what You have called me to do with my words.  I know that it is only through Your love for me that I will be able to meet this challenge.  I pray that at the end of these 14 days I will be living in sweet victory over my words.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

