Posted by: heisourstrongtower | July 23, 2012

Jesus Calling – July 23rd

Jesus Calling for Kids
July 23rd – Be a Light

This world is full of darkness. But I am the Light of the World. When you choose to follow Me, the Holy Spirit who lives inside of you can shine out from your face. Take My Light and carry it into the world around you.

Be My hands by helping others, and love them with My Love. Ask My Spirit to live through you as you make your way through this day. Hold My Hand with joy in your heart – trusting that I never leave your side. The Light of My Presence is shining on you. Brighten up the world around you by reflecting this Light – showing Me to others.

John 8:12 – When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Matthew 5:14-16 – You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

2 Corinthians 3:18 – And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate[a] the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

Exodus 3:14 – God said to Moses, “I am who I am.[a] This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am has sent me to you.’”

Jesus Calling – July 23rd

I AM THE LIGHT OF THE WORLD. Men crawl through their lives cursing the darkness, but all the while I am shining brightly. I desire each of My followers to be a Light-bearer. The Holy Spirit who lives in you can shine from your face, making Me visible to people around you. Ask My Spirit to live through you, as you wend your way through this day. Hold My Hand in joyful trust, for I never leave your side. The Light of My Presence is shining upon you. Brighten up the world by reflecting who I Am.

My Reflections:
As I was typing these devotions into our group, Pamela posted this Bible verse and these words to go along with it.

“Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good. Romans 12:21

In tribute to those who lost their lives and those who were injured in Aurora, CO. Let’s do something good for someone else today (and on a regular basis.) I don’t mean only random acts of kindness, but well thought out and prayed over acts of kindness, too.”

I believe with all of my heart that this is exactly what God wanted us to get from these devotions today. We are to be His Light in the darkness of this world. We should not be overcome with the darkness, but we should overcome the darkness with His Light. And the only way to do that is follow Pamela’s advice…do “well thought out and prayed over acts of kindnesses” for someone everyday. This is how we shine His Light into the world…this is how we separate ourselves from those living in darkness and attempt to bring them into the Light.

We need to pray today for all the victims and the families involved in this horrific shooting. We also need to pray for James Holmes and his family…just like this church in Colorado did on Sunday. They are a shining example of God’s Light to the world right now and I want to live like that…don’t you?

Dear Lord:
I ask that you shine your light through me into the lives of others. I ask that you provide comfort and peace to the families of those who lost their lives in the recent shooting in Aurora, CO. I ask that you bring healing into the lives of those who were shot and are recovering from their injuries. Help them to heal mentally and physically…while we do not understand why this happened help the families to find You through all that they are going through. You alone can make something beautiful from this situation. We pray for the family of the shooter, Lord. We ask that you comfort them and help them deal with what their son has done…I understand that his mother attends church regularly, Lord and I pray that her friends from church will rally around her and that if any member of this family needs to find You that they will be brought to You through this situation. Help us all to be more sensitive to those around us and to know that everyone has their own burdens to bear and while we may not always understand why things happen the way they do…you are always with us during the good times and bad. We trust You with our life and we know that You are the only one that can redeem our lives for good. In Jesus name, Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

