Posted by: heisourstrongtower | July 15, 2012

Jesus Calling – July 16th

SELF-PITY IS A SLIMY, BOTTOMLESS PIT.  Once you fall in, you tend to go deeper and deeper into the mire.  As you slide down those slippery walls, you are well on your way to depression, and the darkness is profound. 

Your only hope is to look up and see the Light of My Presence shining down on you.  Though the Light looks dim from your perspective, deep in the pit, those rays of hope can reach you at any depth.  While you focus on Me in trust, you rise ever so slowly out of the abyss of despair.  Finally, you can reach up and grasp My hand.  I will pull you out into the Light again.  I will gently cleanse you, washing off the clinging mire.  I will cover you with My righteousness and walk with you down the path of Life.

Psalm 40:2-3 – He also brought me up out of a horrible pit, Out of the miry clay,  And set my feet upon a rock, And established my steps.  He has put a new song in my mouth—Praise to our God; Many will see it and fear, And will trust in the Lord. 

Psalm 42:5 – Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him For the help of His countenance. 

Psalm 147:11 – The Lord takes pleasure in those who fear Him, In those who hope in His mercy.

Jesus Calling for Kids – July 16th

Look Up!

Self-pity is a slimy, bottomless pit.  Once you fall in, it’s almost impossible to get out by yourself.  The harder you try to pull yourself out, the farther down you slip.  You look down and all you can see is deep darkness. 

Don’t look down – look up at Me.  See My Light, which is still shining on you.  See My hand, which is reaching down to you.  Reach up in trust and grab My hand.  Hold tightly to My promises as I slowly pull you up out of the pit. 

I will set your feet on the firm rock of My Love.  I will wash away the mud of sin with My forgiveness – and cleanse you with My Peace.  I will cover you with the shining clothes of My righteousness.  And I will walk with you down the path of Life.

My Reflections:

I have heard from a few of you over the last few days and you are not having an easy time right now.  You are full of questions about what is going on in your life and you want some answers from God.  The problem is…when you don’t think He is answering quickly enough or if you don’t like what you think you are hearing, you start down that slippery slope of depression.

I am going to get real with you right now and you might not like it very much, but the truth is…I need to crack on you, just a bit.  I could leave you right where you are, but that is not what a good friend does.  A friend that is concerned about your spiritual well-being is not going to ignore the problem or ignore you.  A friend concerned about your spiritual well-being is going to point you to God and offer you a suggestion or two to help you.  Reading this devotion was a great first step and one of the best pieces of advice to avoid the slimy pit is found in this devotion; LOOK UP!

Look up to the one who will cover you with His righteousness and who will cleanse you with His Peace.  When you take your eyes of off Him and you start to focus on yourself…you lose His perspective.  You forget who He says you are and how much He loves you.  You need to try to keep your eyes on Him, at all times; LOOK UP!

I am only going to suggest one more thing to you, for now.  I am going to suggest that you look for someone else who needs your help and be a blessing to them.  So here are the two suggestions for you today; look up and look around.  Whatever you do…do not look down.

God our Father,
in good times
may I live in such a way
that I will be strengthened
for the difficult times
that all of us face in our lives.
Lead me now
to make positive choices
to value friendship and loyalty,
and develop attitudes and values,
treasuring all that is lasting and important.
Throughout difficult times
may I build on
the positive choices of my past,
looking outward in the service of others
and avoiding self-pity.
May I grow in the faith
that, whatever my circumstances,
I need have no regrets
but may entrust
my past to your mercy,
my present to your love,
and my future to your Providence.
In Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

