Posted by: heisourstrongtower | July 10, 2012

Trusting God – When I Fall Down

The “Many Strands of One Accord Online Bible Studies” group that is working with the book “Trusting God”  written by the GIG’s is in the fifth week of the book.  We are currently reading the 4th devotion in week 5 called, “When I Fall Down.”  This is what God brought to me to share about this devotion.

Today’s Truth:

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most high shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress;My God, in Him I will trust.” Psalm 91:1-2

Girlfriend to Girlfriend:

Today I spent the afternoon at the pool in our subdivision with my daughter and my grandchildren. The kids were playing and having a great time swimming, going down the water slide and jumping off the diving board. They stayed mostly in the deep end of the pool, having a grand time. It was a beautiful sight to behold, watching how far the older three have come in the last 3 years.

When we first met Ayden, Ashton and Avery…the only one who liked the water was Ayden. But he did not know how to swim and was very nervous. Ashton and Avery…totally terrified of the water. They would not put their faces in the water and when you would get in the water with them, they would have a death grip on your neck. And if they weren’t hanging onto your neck they were clinging to the side of the pool, walking on tiptoes to keep their head out of the water.

This was in stark contrast to Josh who had just turned 3 and was a total fish. My husband and I have always enjoyed the water, and we encouraged our two children to love the water too. Our summer’s were spent at the pool and at various lakes in Missouri and Arkansas. Our children learned to swim almost at the same time they learned to walk. Sara was the same way with Joshua…when you are around the water as much as we are, you need to know how to swim, it is pretty important.

Thus, began the summer of Mae Mae swim lessons. I am not the best swimmer in my family, not by a long shot. My husband, Sara and Keith…know how to swim all the strokes…free, back, breast and fly. Even though I am not the best swimmer I was able to teach my grandchildren how to swim.

It was much like the story Mary shared in this devotion of how her grandson learned to walk. They would be clinging to the side of the pool, with both hands…working up the courage to let go and just walk in the water to me. We started out slowly. I had to prove to each one of them that, if they went under water, I could rescue them. I would be there and help them up out of the water before they could count to 5. I can’t tell you the number of times I would lift one of them up and they would tell me…”I counted to 3 or I counted to 4 or I counted to 5.” Thank you God that they never had to count past 5! 🙂

As each one of them learned that I was who I said I was and that I would do what I said I would do…all about trust…they learned to swim. By the end of the our first summer together, they were swimming with their faces in the water and loving every minute of it. I will never forget the first time they were able to show Sara and their daddy how well they could swim, you would have thought that they had all just beaten Michael Phelps in the Olympics, we were all clapping and cheering so loud.

God provided the perfect opportunity for a bond to form between all four of my grandchildren and me that summer. Joshua already knew he could trust me and because he knew that he encouraged them with his words.

“Mae Mae will catch you.”

“Watch me swim to Mae Mae.”

“You can do it, Ayden.”

“You can do it, Ashton.”

“You can do it, Avery.”

And as each of them learned something new…Joshua would clap right along with me and tell them, “Way to go!”

I know that God was clapping right along with Joshua and I with each new stroke Ayden, Ashton and Avery swam. He was watching and celebrating the bonds we were forming, and the love that was growing between all of us.

Let’s Pray:

Dear God, I want to see and know You as the loving and caring Father that You are. Thank You for Your faithfulness in my life. I praise You for Your unconditional love that gives me hope when life looks hopeless. Thank You for never leaving me to live in my own strength. Today, I celebrate the truth that I am Your child and that when I fall, You will be there. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Your Turn:

How did God speak to you through this devotion today? Do you have a story about a time that God helped you walk or swim through your fear?

http://www.facebook.com/ManyStrandsOfOneAccordOnLineBibleStudies

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

