Posted by: heisourstrongtower | July 8, 2012

Jesus Calling – July 9th

“STOP WORRYING long enough to hear My voice.  I speak softly to you, in the depths of your being.  Your mind shuttles back and forth, hither and yon, weaving webs of anxious confusion.  As My thoughts rise up within you, they become entangled with in those sticky webs of worry.  Thus, My voice is muffled, and you hear only “white noise”. 

Ask My Spirit to quiet your mind so that you can think My thoughts.  This ability is an awesome benefit of being My child, patterned after My own image.  Do not be deafened by the noise of the world or that of your own thinking.  Instead be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  Sit quietly in My Presence, letting My thoughts reprogram your thinking.” 

Deuteronomy 30:20 – “…that you may love the Lord your God, that you may obey His voice, and that you may cling to Him, for He is your life and the length of your days; and that you may dwell in the land which the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give them.” 

Genesis 1:27 – “So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.” 

Romans 12:2 – “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

Jesus Calling for Kids – July 9th

Listen for My Voice

“Stop worrying, and listen carefully for My voice.  But remember that I speak softly.  If your own thoughts are too noisy, you will not hear Me. 

I understand that there are many things to think about: school, family, friends, what to wear, what to say, what to do…the list goes on and on.  All those thoughts start bouncing around in your mind, zigzagging all over the place – until the “noise” they make drowns out My voice. 

You’ll never hear Me above all that confusion.  That is why I gave you a special gift – My Spirit inside you.  Ask My Spirit to quiet your thoughts so that you can hear Mine.  Then sit peacefully in My Presence – letting My thoughts become yours.” 

Reflections on Today’s Devotion:

A very dear friend of mine posted the following to one of our groups on Sunday, “I always ask God to speak to me through the morning devotions I read each day and I think He was really telling me something this morning. Both of the devotions I read spoke of being quiet & still and to listen for God’s voice and leading.”  Well, in case you are counting here is the 3rd devotion that is speaking to you about being still and listening for His voice.  It also references a Bible verse about God’s perfect will…Romans 8:28.

It is hard to hear His voice when we are surrounded and bombarded with worldly thinking and with worldly voices.  We need to program our mind to filter what we allow to influence our thinking.  Some people’s voices need to be blocked from taking up residence in our mind.  We cannot stop them from speaking, but we can decide whether the words they speak are going to settle in our minds and our hearts or if they need to find a new place to roost.

Ask God to help you focus on Him and on His thoughts, and on His word…give Him the biggest space in your mind and in your heart.  He will renew your mind and your heart with His transforming words.

Let’s Pray:

May Christ through my faith make His permanent home in my mind and in my heart! It is my desire to be rooted deep in the love of God and  that I may have the power and be strong to apprehend and grasp with all Your devoted people the breadth and length and height of that love. 

I pray, in the name of Jesus, that I may know this love that surpasses all knowledge — that I may be filled to the measure of all Your fullness. Now to You Who are able to do immeasurably more than all I ask or imagine, according to Your power that is at work within me, to You be the glory and the honor throughout all generations, forever and ever! Amen.

Many Strands of One Accord Online Bible Studies

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

