Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 27, 2012

Trusting God – Would You Be Afraid?

Trusting God

Week 3 – Devotion 5 

Today’s Truth: “He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” 

Girlfriend to Girlfriend:

When I met my oldest grandson, he was 7 years old and he had already lived a life that my daughter and our family had not been a part of…and he had many fears, his biggest fear; storms.  The first time he spent the night at our house we realized how big the problem was…the television started flashing the thunderstorm warning and Ayden started pushing the panic button.

I literally had a basket case on my hands and I was missing all the pieces of the puzzle that led to his fear in the first place.  I did not know the words or songs or games that had been used in his past to help him get through his fear.  I was worried that his fear was going to flow down to his brothers and sister…so I decided I needed to pull out the problem solver, God.

I prayed, “God, I do not know what Ayden needs to hear right now, but you do.  So, Lord give me the words that will calm his heart and help him to rest tonight.  In Jesus name, Amen.”

I took a deep breath and started sharing how I used to be afraid of storms too.  I told him how excited I was that we had something in common like members of a family.

I asked him, “Ayden, do you want to know how I got over my fear of storms?”

He told me, “Yes.”

So I shared how I started asking God to take away my fear of storms.  I said that I decided one day that I could not ask God to stop the storm, but I could ask Him to stop the fear inside of me.

“Ayden, do you know how to pray?”

“Not really Mae Mae.”

“Ayden, do you want me to help you pray and ask God to take away the fear?”

“Yes, I do.  Will it work right away?”

“Well, that is going to depend upon you, Ayden.  You have to believe the prayer and believe that God will do what you ask of Him.”

And so we prayed and the prayer worked long enough that Ayden had proof that God does hear our prayers and He helps us…we just need to ask and believe.  He still had moments over the next several months of fear during storms, but as soon as someone reminded him to pray…he prayed and his fear gradually diminished.  Today I am happy to report, at the age of almost 11, he is no longer afraid of storms.

God might not always remove the storm, but He will remove your fear of the storm.  And hey, remember, when you are in the middle of a big storm…your lifeguard walks on water.

Let’s Pray:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for never leaving me.  I know that no matter what happens in my life today, You are with me.  Your power is in me, and Your protection surrounds me.  I have nothing to fear.  In Jesus name, Amen.

Your Turn:

What has God laid upon your heart from the words in this devotion by Sharon Jaynes today?

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

