Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 12, 2012

TRUST- my God word for 2012 by Serafina Mauro

I am so excited today to introduce you to my guest blogger for the day, Serafina Mauro.  As you know we are doing a 52 week word study on the Many Strands of One Accord page and this week’s word is “Trust.”  We also started our new study, “Trusting God,” officially this past Sunday.  Well, my sweet sister in Christ, Serafina, choose “trust” as her God word for 2012.  She agreed to share with all of you some of the reasons behind her choice and how far she has come this year through “trusting” her Abba Father more and more every day.  I know that you will blessed by the words God has placed on her heart to share with us.  Leave her a comment if her words touch your heart too!  ❤ Patti Taylor-Muzik

TRUST- my God word for 2012 by Serafina Mauro

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NLT) – Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.

Psalm 56:3-4 (NLT) – But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in you.  I praise God for what he has promised.  I trust in God, so why should I be afraid?  What can mere mortals do to me?

I wanted to share with you first these verses from the Bible…they are some of my favorite scriptures.

Last year in January, when Patti gave each of the Women of Victory an assignment to pray and find her God word for 2012, I was really concerned. One word? Only one word….well, this was going to be interesting. I prayed and prayed some more, nothing. I just could not hear the word He had for me. By this time I was ready to give up. A few of my sweet sisters suggested different possible words for me, but I wasn’t sure those words where for me.

I have not had an easy life. I’ve gone through a lot in my 52 years….Patti has said some of us have an easier life while others have more trials……I try and make myself feel better by thinking about the saying, “God, only gives you what you are able to handle,” …well, I wish he wouldn’t trust me so much.

At this point in my life I can write a book….the best part is I am a survivor. Not because of my strength but because of Jesus being a part of my life.

As I was reflecting on my past and all I had survived the one constant was, Jesus. He gave me strength when I needed it. He walked beside me when I needed someone beside me. He listened when there was nobody near me. No matter what, He did not give up on me….others did. I started to think that I needed something during those difficult times…..what was it? It was my TRUST in God!

Trust in God has given me victory over some pretty difficult times. One of the most difficult times was last year, last March to be exact. It involved my 24-year-old, only child, Marc. He made some poor choices and the consequences where severe. His poor choices will possibly impact him for his entire life. I was broken; my mother heart was shattered and numb. The only thing I felt was pain and sorrow….how was I going to survive this…..how was I going to cope….how was I going to face my co-workers….how was I going to face my clients…how was I going to tell my immediate family…..how was I going to continue working when I did not have any strength left….how, how, how???

God was how!  He had never abandoned me, I knew He was seeing every tear I cried and he was probably crying with me. If I loved my son, how much more did He love him and me? I knew the only way I was going to survive this was to put my TRUST in Him…..He alone could give me what I needed. He alone could see the whole picture, I couldn’t see anything, not only because I am not able to see the whole picture, but because at times I could not see anything through all the tears streaming down my face.

As soon as I felt that trust was my God word, I started getting confirmation from God. I would read devotions with the word trust in them. The word trust would appear in different things I would read…..what’s up with that…. I knew without a doubt that TRUST was my word!!!

I trust God because He has not let me down. I trust Him because I know He has plans for me. They are plans for peace and not to harm me…His plan for me is a future filled with hope!

This is His plan for each one of us.  My prayer is for God to bless each one of my sisters in Christ, with peace, hope and TRUST in Him.

Jeremiah 29:11 (GW) – I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord. They are plans for peace and not disaster plans to give you a future filled with hope.

Thank you Serafina for opening up your heart and sharing your trust walk with us.  (((Hugs to you )))

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this, Serafina. I could understand how you felt about your son, because the same thing happened to my son a few years ago. One person making a wrong choice can have a domino affect on those around him. But God….If it wasn’t for faith and trust in Him I don’t know what we would have done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

