Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 10, 2012

Reflections from Patti on the Introduction to Trusting God and Day 1; Bailing on God

http://multnomahemails.com/wbmlt/pdf/SneakPeek_TrustingGod.pdf

Girlfriends Talk About Trusting God

I love the title of the introduction to our book.  This is exactly what we are and what we are going to be doing…we are girlfriends talking about trusting God.  Are you ready??? Here we go…

Trust is a tough word.  It is also a tough thing for us to do.  We find it hard to trust the people in our life and, at times, I find it hard to trust myself.  I think that this is also what makes it hard for us to totally trust God too.  Instead of raising ourselves to His level, we shrink God down to our level.  We make our problems bigger than God instead of remembering that God is bigger than any problem we face.

My favorite words in the introduction have not changed since the first time I read the book.  I am a visual person and the idea of linking arms with my sister’s in Christ warms my heart.  “The shields had hooks on the sides so that, in difficult situations, the soldiers could link their shields together and march into battle as one.”  You know what else I think God has done for us in the past couple of weeks…I think He has helped us link our hearts together too.  I think by the various devotions and exercises we have done together, He has proven to us that we can trust each other and that we are of one heart and mind.  We are women who love the Lord and we are running to His arms moment by moment to seek His will for us.

I am so excited to be on this journey with each of you…God has brought us together for a reason and a purpose.  I can’t wait to see what He reveals to each of us as we walk this path together.

Assignments for June 10th for “Trusting God”

Watch the first week’s video for our study today…

AND..if you have not read the introduction…read it today along with the first devotion in week 1.  If you have read the introduction…you only need to read the first devotion.  I think we can very easily memorize Proverbs 3:5…very short and to the point!!!  I am hoping that you will share what God brought to you as you read this first devotion in the book.  The journey begins right now…are you ready????  I am!!!  Woo Hoo!! DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER UNTIL YOU HAVE COMPLETED TODAY’S ASSIGNMENTS!!! 🙂

Week 1

Bailing on God

Mary Southerland

Today’s Truth: 

Trust God from the bottom of your heart. Proverbs 3:5 (MSG)

Girlfriend to Girlfriend:

This is my second go round reading this devotional book and God brought me something new as I read this devotion today.  Last time I read this devotion I was quite bothered by the title…I did not like the thought that “Bailing on God” conjured within my mind and my heart.  I got the idea by the middle of what I was reading though, I understood that Mary’s definition of “bailing” was not the same as my definition of it, she did not mean walking away or deserting God.  She meant it as trusting God enough to fall into the unknown and KNOWING He will be there for us.

Today as I read this devotion again, I heard Him urging me to look as the age of the person in this illustration…the level of experience of life that she has had to this point.  He wanted me to go to the place of child-like faith and child-like trust with Him.  He was reminding me that this little girl had not been through much in her young life and that “trusting” is easy when you have not been hurt or disappointed or abused or any of the other things that happen to women as we go through this life.

I feel He is leading me to share with all of you that no matter what you have been through in your life that makes it hard for you to trust; once you accepted God…you were born again into newness of life.  He has transformed us into a new mindset…He is renewing our minds every day and we really can “bail” on God.  He has promised to never leave us or forsake us!!!

Let’s Pray:

Father, I thank You for the strength and power of Your love. I praise You for Your faithfulness in my life. I long to believe You wholly, and I want to walk in a radical obedience to Your truth. Help me to choose faith over fear and trust and over doubt. TEACH ME TO REST IN YOUR ARMS AND TRUST YOUR HEART, EVEN WHEN I DON’T UNDERSTAND YOUR PROCESS. I choose to place my faith in You. In Jesus name, Amen

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

