Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 4, 2012

Jesus Calling June 5th

“REMEMBER THAT YOU LIVE IN a fallen world: an abnormal world tainted by sin. Much frustration and failure result from you seeking perfection in this life. There is nothing perfect in this world except Me. That is why closeness to Me satisfies deep yearnings and fills you with Joy.

I have planted longing for perfection in every human heart. This is a good desire, which I alone can fulfill. But most people seek this fulfillment in other people and earthly pleasures and achievements. Thus they create idols, before which they bow down. I will have no other gods before Me! Make Me the deepest desire of your heart. Let Me fulfill your yearning for perfection.”

Exodus 20:3 – You shall have no other gods before Me.

Psalm 37:4 – Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Jesus Calling For Kids
June 5th
Seeking Perfection

“I created every person – including you – with a longing for perfection. Most people try to fill this longing with things from this world. They try to have the coolest stuff and the latest fashions. They try to be the most popular in their class, or the star of the sports field or stage. Some even try drugs or alcohol.

Some people will do anything and everything to fill that longing, except turn to Me. Whatever you desire the most – whatever you worship with your time and attention – becomes your god, your idol. But you must have no other gods before Me! Only I am God. Only I am worthy of your worship and praise. And only I can fill your longing for perfection.”

How many of you were a part of the recent “Made to Crave” study through P31? If you were a part of that study you know that God made us to crave Him and sometimes we substitute Him with other things…things that are not good for us especially when we allow ourselves to overindulge in them. I want to share with you just a little bit from one of my blogs during MTC that I feel goes along with this devotion in Jesus Calling…

”Maybe if they understand that God made them this way maybe then they would stop trying to fill the hole in their heart and in their life with things that are not of God. Maybe then they will understand that the part of them that was “Made to Crave” can only be filled with God. And until they fill those holes with Him the cravings will never go away.

So, here is my plan for living a healthy lifestyle…I am going to first and foremost go to God every day in prayer and stay focused on His book of Truth. I am going to remind myself every day of all that He has done for me and that He made us all to Crave Him and only Him. I am not going to buy those foods that are not good for me, which in turn are not good for my body. I will continue to exercise every day for at least 30 minutes and I am going to remember that there are people in this world that really are suffering from terrible addictions that are literally choking the very life out of them. They need someone to share the truth with them that they were made for more than the drug, alcohol, person or food that they are using, outside of God’s will, to fill that need that should only be filled with God!”

Dear God,

Your Word teaches that when we truly experience Your saving grace, we find the power to say no to wasteful passions and to live self-controlled and productive lives. But how much I need Your help to overcome my laziness and self-deception. Teach me and change me, Lord. I want to become more self-controlled. Today it seems that self-indulgence is the drug of choice on every corner. But I don’t want my appetites to dominate my life! You promise to live powerfully through me so that I might love You and serve others. Now show me how to build the walls of self-control and restraint around my life. I relinquish my rebellious will, which robs me of the self-control You want me to choose. Thank You for helping me today. Jesus, please use me as an instrument of this message for others that need to look to You to fill that hole in their life because we are all made to crave You!
In Jesus Name I Pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

