Posted by: heisourstrongtower | May 13, 2012

Jesus Calling May 13th

“THANK ME IN THE MIDST of the crucible. When things seem all wrong, look for growth opportunities. Especially, look for areas where you need to let go, leaving your cares in My able hands. Do you trust Me to orchestrate your life events as I choose, or are you still trying to make things go according to your will? If you keep trying to carry out your intentions while I am leading you in another direction; you deify your desires.

Be on the lookout for what I am doing in your life. Worship Me by living close to Me, thanking Me in all circumstances.”

1 Peter 5:6-7

1 Thessalonians 5:18

I have typed and deleted comments to go along with this devotion and, none of them seem right. One thing keeps popping out at me from within the words that Sarah Young wrote for this 13th day of May though, and I think we need to fully concentrate on the question she asks. “Do you trust Me to orchestrate your life events as I choose, or are you still trying to make things go according to your will? “

Truthfully, I think this is a very important question for us to ask ourselves and to mediate on. It goes to the heart of who we are supposed to be in Him. I am hoping that each of you will share one reason for why you trust God. If you are like me it is easy to trust Him in some areas, but not all. When I was working on the “Trusting God” devotion book one day we were discussing this whole trust issue with God and I commented that maybe it’s not God that we don’t trust. Maybe we just don’t trust ourselves and that is holding us back from totally trusting God. So, let’s help each other list reasons for why we trust God and maybe your reason will help someone else.

Heavenly Father, let the morning, but also the noon and night bring us word of your unfailing love; for your love is better than life, your faithfulness the heartbeat of our hope, and your word the foundation of all trust. We come—we run to you this day seeking help. We lift our hands to you in adoring love and earnest anticipation. Show us the way forward as we navigate our way through our bruised and broken trust.

Father, have mercy on us. Have mercy on me. Help us trust you when we feel like we cannot trust anyone else. Help us trust you in the middle of broken trust. Show us, show me, the ways we ourselves have been trust-breakers rather than bridge builders. By your grace, help us guard our hearts without hardening our hearts. In our pain, help us live as ambassadors of reconciliation, not as saboteurs of Your trust. In the name of Your Son whom we can always trust I pray, Amen

I made a purchase today of the Jesus Calling for Kids. I thought I would share how Sarah Young wrote today’s devotion to Kids with you. As I read this version I was blessed all over again by the words He places inside of her to share and I believe that this is not just for kids. It is for all ages.

Jesus Calling for Kids
May 13th
One of My Days

“Cast all of your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.” – 1 Peter 5:7

It has been one of those days when anything that could possibly go wrong, does go wrong. When it’s been “one of those days” look for Me. Because when everything goes wrong, that is when I am working the hardest in your life. I take frustrations and turn them into opportunities to strengthen your faith. I take disappointments and turn them into chances to draw closer to Me. I take troubles and turn them into opportunities to trust Me.

Do you trust Me enough to let Me lead you through the days when everything goes wrong? Or are you determined to fix it all yourself? If you keep trying to make things go your way while I am leading you in a different way, you make your desires an idol. Instead of doing this, cast all your troubles and worries on Me. Then I will turn “one of those days” into one of My days!

1 Peter 5:6 “Be humble in the presence of God’s mighty power, and he will honor you when the time comes.”

1 Thessalonians 5:18 “Whatever happens, keep thanking God because of Jesus Christ. This is what God wants you to do.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CcBWOBUVdfY&feature=related

http://www.facebook.com/ManyStrandsOfOneAccordOnLineBibleStudies

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

