Posted by: heisourstrongtower | April 22, 2012

Spend Time with God

John 8:36“So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”

Proverbs 19:21  “Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.”

John 10:27 “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.”

Do you have a devotional time designated daily to spend time with God?  I want to share something I wrote during the “Trusting God Study”, I co-lead in the beginning of this year. If you are not aware of this study it was written by Mary Southerland, Gwen Smith and Sharon Jaynes. It is a 12 week devotional…there are 5 daily devotions and a study guide for the 6th day. I know that each of the women that participated in the study went through some transformations during those 12 weeks.

“Jesus said, “This is how you should pray:

“Father, may your name be kept holy. 
May your Kingdom come soon. 
Give us each day the food we need,
and forgive us our sins, 
as we forgive those who sin against us.
And don’t let us yield to temptation.” Luke 11: 1-4

“Prayer is the breath of the newborn soul, and there can be no Christian life without it.” Unknown author

There is more to being good at something than practicing…you have to also have some inborn talent in order to achieve credibility and success. If I am tune deaf, I could practice for hours and hours and hours but, I am not going to be able to sing a solo in perfect harmony. It is the same with most sports, as a life-long athlete I know that without some natural ability…I will see some progress in my skills with practice but, I am not going to be on first string or see much time in the game. It is the people who have this innate ability that will be highlighted in this world and celebrated for the gifts that God has given them.

I have some good news for those of us that don’t have special, inborn, natural ability when it comes to prayer and our prayer life…you only need to believe in God and bring your petitions to Him. There is no right or wrong way to pray…as long as you pray…not praying is the only wrong way when it comes to prayer.

I just wanted to share with you all some other tips to enhance your prayer time with God. Maybe you already incorporate some these ideas during your quiet time…either way; we need to spend time every day with the Lord in prayer. It is the most important part of our worship life.

Designate a space in your home as your prayer room. This could be a part of a bedroom cordoned off with a sheet, curtain or privacy screen. It could also be a large closet, a part of the basement or attic, a sun-room or a spare bedroom. It is not so much about where, it is about making sure that you have a special place to pray each day. Make this space comfortable and I actually have put together a prayer box. I have a large shoe box with some index cards, pens, some of the books that I have read about prayer and my nook…for some musical ambiance.

Get into your prayer position…sometimes expressing yourself physically can get you into the right frame of mind. People vary in how they position themselves during prayer: sitting, kneeling, lying down on the floor, hands folded, clasped, or raised high, holding hands with other people, head bowed, dancing, prostrating, whirling, swaying, and so on. Maybe you do a little bit of everything…just get in the position that you need to be in, to be totally centered on Him.

Prepare your mind for prayer. Maybe you listen to some music before praying or read a devotion or two, you might just open your Bible and point your finger and read some scripture before prayer. If you have a book that you write prayer requests inside of…get it out now and look through it so you remember those people who need your prayers. Finish those preparations needed for you to begin your petitions to God.

It is now time to start praying…I use the acronym of ACTS during my prayer time.

A-doration – praise Jesus for one or more of His attributes, “Your love, O LORD, reaches to the heavens, your faithfulness to the skies.”Psalm 36:5

C-onfession – tell Jesus what you have done wrong and why; seek forgiveness and thank Him for His forgiveness. “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”1 John 1:9

T-hanksgiving – express your gratitude to God for all the blessings that He bestows on you. “Let them give thanks to the LORD for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for men”Psalm 107:15

S-upplication – make known to Him your request for healing, guidance, protection, sustenance, provision…whatever it is you need for yourself or for someone else. “...Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.”1 Chronicles 4:10

Don’t forget that prayer is also about communicating with God, take time after your prayer to be still and listen to any answers that God may have for you. You may not hear at first but with practice you will begin to feel God speaking to your heart.

I will praise you, O LORD, with all my heart;
I will tell of all your wonder
I acknowledged my sin to You,
And my iniquity I did not hide;
I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD”;
And You forgave the guilt of my sin.
Enter His gates with thanksgiving
And His courts with praise
Give thanks to Him, bless His name.
Lord, I ask that you help us to come to you
With open hearts and open eyes
Fully knowing and trusting that you
Will give to us our heart desires as long
As it is within Your will for our lives.
In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

