Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 23, 2012

The Power of a Woman’s Words

“Death and life are in the power of the TONGUE: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.”  Proverbs 18:21 

I think this verse illustrates the importance we need to place on the power of our words.  This is especially true with how we interact and communicate with each other these days.  It is very important to pick and choose your words wisely as you attempt to share what God has laid upon your heart in our text messages, emails and in the social media sites that we are a part of.

I think that we all know how easy it is for people to read something into the words that we write; there is no facial expression or body language or tone to help decipher the meaning behind our words.  And because of this people put their own interpretation on the words you have written…and not always in the way that you intended them to take your words.

This is one of the reasons that I have decided to lead a group of women on facebook in a study of a book, “The Power of a Woman’s Words” by Sharon Jaynes.  As I have researched information on this book and what to expect from the study I found this description…a pretty strong example of how powerfully motivating the written word can be.

“Words—one of the most significant forces in the universe—can be used for good or evil. Your words can change the course of a day…the course of a life. Popular speaker Sharon Jaynes will help you use your words in positive, powerful ways, so that you can… 

• instill confidence into a child’s heart

• encourage a husband to accomplish his dreams

• fan the dying embers of a friend’s smoldering hope

• draw someone to the love of Christ

• open the door to powerful prayer 

As a woman, you can explore the power you possess, the people you impact, the potential for change, and the profound possibilities as you harness this mighty force and use it to speak life to those around you.” 

Personally, I use the written word to communicate the love of God on a daily basis on facebook via posts on my personal page, on my blog and within the on-line groups I am leading.  I am hoping that this study will empower me to the next level in my walk with God and help me to wisely choose my words, both written and spoken, to bring “life” to my family and my friends.

Do you think that you could benefit from this Bible Study too?  Would you like to join this on-line study?  You only need to purchase the book, “The Power of a Woman’s Words” by Sharon Jaynes…there is a workbook/study guide that goes along with the book.  There is no requirement to purchase the workbook…I will post the assignments to the group page from the study guide every day for those of you who just want to purchase the book.

The study will start on April 1, 2012 and we will work through one chapter a week, for the next 14 weeks.  I hope you will join me on this journey of learning to choose our words wisely and in understanding just how powerful those words can be to the people we interact with on a daily basis.  Check out the short video that was put together to introduce us to “The Power of a Woman’s Words”.

Dear Lord:

Our prayer is simple yet ever so necessary and daily: grant us a greater gospel-stewardship of our words. As you speak to us, please speak through us, Lord Jesus. We are painfully aware that our words can bring great harm and death (Prov. 18:21). Indeed, if we’re not careful, our words can pillage the soft tissues of the heart like gangrene (Eph. 4:29). Forgive us, Lord Jesus, even as recent conversations come to mind in which we have brought unnecessary harm.  Give us the words that will bring life and love to the people that we communicate with on daily basis.  In the name of Your precious Son I pray, Amen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfp13XiZcNg

Responses

  1. Would like to join Thank you so much

    • This post and group were from back in 2012, when I facilitated a study of this book on my own. I do have a couple of other ladies who are doing this book with me on-line and I will see if they want to do this as s small group. I will get back to you and let you know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

