Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 23, 2012

Another Day, Another Reason

“Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance … love will last forever! (NLT)” 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

“…love will last forever,” as long as I learn to control my tongue.  I am fully convicted now of the fact that I need to do this next on-line  study, “The Power of a Woman’s Words!!!  Here is the story of why I need to work on using my words to bring “life”…to my marriage.

My husband came into the house tonight after walking the dog, he was on his cell phone talking to someone and I heard him say the word, “snake.”   Now, I am a city girl with a little bit of country in me…I used to spend my summers on my grandparents 80 acre farm.  So, I have seen my share of snakes but…that does not mean that I like them or want to be around them.

When he got off of the phone I asked Peter who he had been talking to and he told me our son-in-law, Tim.  Well my mind started adding up the situation like this…Tim + Sara + grandchildren + snake = a panicked grandma.  I calmly asked him why I heard the word snake during his conversation.  He told me that Tim found a small Copperhead at the back of their property line.  I gasped at his answer and said something, not sure anymore what I said about the snake but, I know that he immediately started mocking me, like this “snake” was no big deal.  My reaction to his action…anger!!!!

I felt total and immediate anger at him for making fun of my fear over a Copperhead being in close proximity to my grandchildren’s play area.  And, I did not waste a single second letting him know how upset he was making me.  “How dare you mock me?”  I have already been reading the first few chapters of “The Power of a Woman’s Words” and I felt he needed to hear a lesson or 2 from the book.  “Don’t you know that your words have power?  Do you think that you are speaking “life” to me by making fun of me and making me feel stupid because I am concerned about this snake?”

You have to imagine these words coming out of my mouth in an angry and frustrated tone with a little bit of volume.  I am sure you get the picture and while I know that he should not have teased me…I should have counted to fifty, at least, before I tore into him.  My mom always told me that two wrongs don’t make anyone right and neither one of us was right tonight.

I had no business going all “holier than thou” on him and he should not have ridiculed my fear.  He left the house to go clean the Community Center in our subdivision and I picked up my laptop to work on my Bible Study groups and pages.  I found some free resources to post in the “Power of a Woman’s Words” group that list “words your husband longs to hear from you and “words to avoid saying to your husband.”  And, even though my words to Peter are not found on the list to avoid saying to your husband, they certainly will not be found on the list of words he is longing to hear from me either.  When he came home we both used a phrase from the words he longs to hear list…”I’m sorry!”  Now that’s more like it!

I have now found two areas of my life where I need help in using the power of words in a way that is more pleasing to God…through my electronic communications and in my discussions with my husband.  I know there are more areas where I need to be more careful with my choice of words.  The list is already forming in my mind…I will save it for another day, though…time to get some sleep.

Lord: 

I want to use my words carefully.  Please forgive me for those times, like tonight, when I speak in haste and waste the opportunity to be more like you.  I want to take my time before speaking and make sure that what I say is just what You want me to say.  I want every word that I speak to be sealed with Your approval…I want to speak my words using Your voice.  Thank you for your forgiveness and for being the God of many chances.  In Jesus name I pray, Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

