Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 11, 2012

God’s Pearl

Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9 

Pearls…I have always liked them and when my daughter was born in the month of June, I was thrilled that her birthstone was the pearl.  I would go antiquing quite a bit when Sara was younger and I always looked through the various jewelry displays searching for pearls.   One day during my search a kind gentlemen, who owned the store, decided to educate me on how to determine a real pearl from a faux pearl and I was quite shocked to find out that I had been overlooking pearls that were real and mistaking them for fakes and that, unfortunately, I had purchased a few fakes.

A real pearl has a soft glow that seems to emit from its very center.  The pearl receives this luminosity from the many layers of nacre built up over the years that the pearl spent inside the oyster.  The longer the pearl remains inside the oyster the stronger the nacre…the stronger the pearl.  False pearls have surface shine, but not that special glow.

Is the surface of the pearl perfectly smooth and flawless? If so, it’s probably false. The closer to perfect a pearl’s surface is, the higher its value—but it’s practically impossible for a pearl to have no flaws at all. Sometimes you need a microscope or magnifying glass to detect the flaws on a pearl, but if it’s real, they’re there.  Real pearls have a fresh, cool feel. False pearls can sometimes feel greasy, and they don’t have that coolness.  Rub two pearls against each other. If it feels a little gritty, they’re real. If it feels slippery, the pearls are false.

I think that a real pearl is defined similarly to a real Christian, what do you think?  A real Christian has a glow that seems to come out from the center of their being.  Our luminosity grows stronger every year through prayer, studying His word and even through our trials and tribulations.  Like a beautiful pearl it is impossible for a real Christian to not have some flaws or to not have gone through some stuff in this life.  Everything that we go through makes us stronger for Him and increases that inner glow that represents the Light that comes from Him.

We are the real deal…God made each one of us to be exactly who we are right now and everything that we have gone through has contributed to the beautiful woman who God has called you to be through Him.  You are the real deal…flaws and all!

Dear God,

In Your presence is fullness of joy and at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore! What a wonderful place to be! Why should I seek happiness or joy anyplace else? In Your presence there is an abundance of all the things I need, now and forevermore!In Your presence there is unending enjoyment! As I walk with You daily on the Path of Life You have prepared for me, I will be completely filled with confidence and contentment.  Your words will refresh me. Your right hand will uphold me. Your Spirit will lead and guide me. I will have a feeling of great delight just knowing You are near to meet my every need.  Thank You God for Your presence in my life! In Jesus Name I Pray, Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

