Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 1, 2012

Unsettled And It Feels So Good!

I can totally get on board with the 17th Chapter of Made to Crave.  This chapter is all about placing God in the center and using Him as our filter for all things.  I am in complete agreement with how Lysa answered the question, “Is discipline really sustainable?”  We can never be disciplined enough within our own strength to resist those things that are holding us in bondage.  But, in Him all things are possible and through Him I can sustain the discipline.

“We need to be empty enough and open enough to discover the holiness we were made for.”  I think that this just may be my favorite quote in the entire book.  Our bodies need to be emptied of any and all distractions that prevent us from recognizing the holiness inside of us.  It is only through this process that we can change from conforming to the world to transforming for His glory.

I truly have come so far in this journey and what is miraculous to me is that I feel like I am a different person.  I feel like there has been a change from the inside out.  Do I always make the right food choices?  No, not always but I have not overindulged in…any…way, either.  I think the most important thing that I have learned…it is permissible to try a taste of something, but there is never a need to sit down and eat till I make myself sick…definitely not beneficial for my body.

I am so empowered by this statement, “The very next choice we make isn’t really about the food….It’s about whether or not we’re positioning ourselves to live the kind of God-honoring lives in which, by God’s strength, sustained discipline is possible.”  I have already stated that I feel that this is possible and that it is only achievable through total surrender to God.  I have to hand it all to Him and allow Him to be my portion and my provision for the rest of my life.

I think that we all need to pray the prayer that asks for God to unsettle us.  We need to be knocked out of our complacency.  We need for God to shake things up and create within us the will to walk away from the status quo.  We were made for more and until we realize that we are settling for less than what we were made for…we are never going to achieve all that He has planned for our lives.

I do my best to decide each morning what I am going to eat for that day.  Even though I spend my days at home, I still plan my daily intake of food carefully.  I have found that when I do not do this, the temptation to run out the door for a fast food fix is strong.  But, I know He is stronger and that helps me to stay within His will for my life.

While I was reading my devotions this morning during my quiet time, God brought me a few Bible verses to help me stay strong and I know that He would want me to share them with all of you too.  After all, we are in this journey together…encouraging, holding each other accountable, sharing our trials and praising our victories.

“Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” (Romans 5:5, NKJV) 

I have hope in the Lord and His ability to see me through because He does love me and He wants to see me succeed.  He wants the same for each of you too!

“Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”  So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.  What can mere mortals do to me?” Hebrews 13: 5-6” 

Even though this verse is talking about material possessions I know that it applies in all areas of our lives.  He will never leave us and He will never forsake us so in those times that we are struggling with the permissible vs beneficial He will see us through…not even my inner-me can stand up against God and bring me down.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” Galatians 5: 22-23 

This verse promises us the fruit of the spirit and the one that I am hanging my hat on right now is self-control, without which we are all lost.  We have all been given the spirit of self-control within us and I for one intend to put it to good use in my life.  How about you?  What are you hanging your hat on as we move forward from this study?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

