Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 1, 2012

Surrender

I wrote this tonight for a study I am doing through Girlfriends in God and the book we are reading is called, “Trusting God.”  I highly recommend that you buy the book, it will move you, challenge you, teach you and show you why you need to Trust God.  This post is for week 9 of the study about surrendering all to Him…

“In order to get to a place of deeper God-trust, we often need to come to a place of surrender.”  Each of us needs to get to that place and we need to wave that white-flag of surrender; we need to surrender to the solution and to the resolution.

But, how do we do that?  And, what does total surrender look like?

Here are some definitions from dictionary.com for the word, “surrender”…

1. to yield (something) to the possession or power of another; deliver up possession of on demand or under duress: to surrender the fort to the enemy; to surrender the stolen goods to the police.

2. to give (oneself) up, as to the police.

3. to give (oneself) up to some influence, course, emotion, etc.: He surrendered himself to a life of hardship.

4. to give up, abandon, or relinquish (comfort, hope, etc.).

5. to yield or resign (an office, privilege, etc.) in favor of another.

verb (used without object)

6. to give oneself up, as into the power of another; submit or yield.

This does not sound like something that I want to do, how about you?  I think that we humans have given this word a bad rap.  Let’s look at some of these definitions in Biblical terms and see if that does not help us to surrender to Him.

“To yield to the possession or power of another; deliver up possession of on demand.”  Are you aware that everything that you have or ever hope to have is on loan from Him?  He has given us everything…He is the giver of all good things.  We are only the stewards for what He has given to us…even our children are His and we are their earthly caretaker’s.

“To give (oneself) up to some influence, course, emotion, etc.: He surrendered himself to a life of hardship.”  We are to give up everything for Him.  We are supposed to let Him direct what influences us, He is to set our course in life and we are to put Him in charge of our emotions.  I think that when we use this word in a sentence using this definition it should read like this, “She surrendered herself to God and gave up a life of hardship.

“To give up, abandon or relinquish TO God’s comfort and hope”

“To yield or resign in favor of another”… We do know that we have to yield to God and I love the last part of this definition…we need to resign in favor of God so that we can receive His favor.  I think that definition 6 is really similar to 5…we are called to give up power, submit and yield to His wisdom for our life.

For me total surrender is this, I hand over every area of my life to Him and take my hands off…I have to submit to Him, all of me, in order for Him to give me what He has planned for me.  I cannot be effective for His kingdom if I am still holding on to something that He has asked me to give up.  My life is not my own…it is His and I am to honor Him with my mind, my body and my soul.  I think that the only way to surrender your life to Him is to believe in Him, have faith that He is “I am.”  Wave that white flag ladies…time is short and there are many people who need to hear our testimonies.

I am writing this tonight from the absolute center of my heart…God has a purpose for our lives and when we operate from the flesh and not from the Spirit we could be forfeiting the life of that one person that God has given to us to save.

Don’t forfeit anyone because it is just too hard to be who He has called you to be.  He will equip you to fulfill your destiny…this destiny is yours for the taking because of the sacrifice that Jesus made on the cross for you.  Your destiny was bought at the price of His nail scarred hands!!!  What more can He do for you???

This song by Sidewalk Prophets has become my anthem and my prayer…I do want to live like that!!!!

“Sometimes I think 
What will people say of me 
When I’m only just a memory 
When I’m home where my soul belongs 
Was I love 
When no one else would show up 
Was I Jesus to the least of those 
Was my worship more than just a song 
I want to live like that 
And give it all I have 
So that everything I say and do 
Points to You
If love is who I am 
Then this is where I’ll stand 
Recklessly abandoned 
Never holding back 
I want to live like that 
I want to live like that 
Am I proof 
That You are who you say You are 
That grace can really change a heart 
Do I live like Your love is true 
People pass 
And even if they don’t know my name 
Is there evidence that I’ve been changed 
When they see me, do they see You 
I want to live like that 
And give it all I have 
So that everything I say and do 
Points to You 
If love is who I am 
Then this is where I’ll stand 
Recklessly abandoned 
Never holding back 
I want to live like that 
I want to live like that 
I want to show the world the love You gave for me 
I’m longing for the world to know the glory of the King 
I want to live like that 
And give it all I have 
So that everything I say and do 
Points to You 
If love is who I am 
Then this is where I’ll stand 
Recklessly abandoned 
Never holding back 
I want to live like that 
I want to live like that”

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GfosSggwQS0

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

