Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 28, 2012

Filled with the Spirit

‎”Jesus answered, “I tell you the truth, you are looking for me, not because you saw miraculous signs but because you ate the loaves and had your fill. Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you. On him God the Father has placed his seal of approval.”” John 6:26 (NIV) 

I think this verse speaks to the words that I read in Chapters 14, 15 and 16 in “Made to Crave.  It addresses all the issues that Lysa raised in these chapters.

Emotional Emptiness – When we are faced with emotional emptiness we need to make sure that we are not trying to fill that space with things that might taste good in the moment but will later spoil and make us feel rotten.  It is important to examine that emptiness and define it for what it truly is…what is true, what is noble, what is right, what is pure, what is lovely and what in this situation is admirable, excellent and praiseworthy?  Hand that emptiness over to God and He will make something beautiful that you can use to help others.

The Demon in the Chips Poster– Satan knows our Achilles heel; he knows just what he needs to do to bring the most temptation into our lives.  He will use all within his arsenal to make us fall for his trap.  Chip Ingram is so right that devil’s schemes are, “…orchestrated in order to tempt us, deceive us, draw us away from God, fill our hearts with half-truths and untruths, and lure us into pursuing good things in the wrong way, at the wrong time, or with the wrong person.”  The devil will wait until we are at your weakest point and then he will pounce, and believe me he will not care anything about the carnage that he leaves behind.  But, thankfully God does care about us and He is waiting for us at our weakest point…He is not waiting for us to fail, He is waiting for us to run to Him with open arms.  I am encouraging us to not give into temptation I am encouraging each one of us to know that when we are the end of our rope…that’s where He will be waiting for us!

Why Diets don’t Work – I think that diets do not work because we are living in that weakened state that Pastor Ingram discussed in Chapter 15.  We have cut back on how many calories that we normally eat during the day and if we are normal women, we are feeling that we have been depriving ourselves…at one point or another we decide that it time to throw a great big, fat pity party and invite all of our wonderful fattening friends to make us feel better.  “Hello, double chocolate fudge cake…I know that this is pretty short notice but, I am having a pity party and I am hoping that you are available to join me.  Don’t worry I have already invited plenty of our mutual friends, Moose Tracks Ice Cream, hot fudge sauce, real whipped cream.  And just in case all of this doesn’t fulfill all my needs I have also invited Salty Chips, real sour cream ranch dip and French fries.”

Wow, I have come a long way since the beginning of this study…I can actually write and think about all those foods and it does not faze me nearly as much as it did in the beginning of this study.  Progress!!  I do have a point with all of this, even though I let myself get slightly sidetracked there for a minute.  I found my truth within John 6:26 above…

When I walk this world operating within my flesh and I gorge myself on things and people to satisfy my desires I will find that I am still empty at the end of my day.  But, when I look for and only allow myself to consume those things that God has stamped with His seal of approval then at the end of my day I will be full and satisfied.   I have proven to myself that I can do this but, only through Christ who loves me.  I am only limited in what I am able to do when I am living in the flesh, once I surrender everything to Him…all things are possible.

Lord, You have proven to me that I can live within normal and healthy weight limits when I love You more than I love my stomach. I am teaching myself to act in a new way.  I will use food as Your holy gift of nutrition.  I will make it a conscious effort on my part but I know it is possible through grateful trust and with Your help and protection.  In the precious name of Your Son I pray, Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

