Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 26, 2012

I am no More and I am no Less

“Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”  Ephesians 4:32 

My pastor told a story during his message today about a situation he was involved in this past week.  This story illustrates for me why I love my pastor and how blessed I feel each week that God directed me to this church.  My Pastor is not afraid to be real and to share with the congregation stories that show him as less than perfect.  Let me share the story with you…

This past week my pastor met with some people to discuss some renovations to the new campus that are going to total around 4.2 million dollars.  My pastor has the final word about the approval for this project and he was meeting with some people who want to complete this project for our church.  During the meeting he was beginning to feel as if no one was listening to his concerns; people were talking over him and he started to feel like they did not understand his importance in the decision-making process.

He could feel the words forming inside of him that would bring his importance to the forefront of each person around the table, “Don’t you know who I am?  You all need to be quiet; it’s my turn to speak.”  But, before he could give voice to those words he heard different words coming from a much stronger voice inside of his spirit.  “David, you need to listen right now.  It is not time for you to speak yet.  The people around this table know what they are doing and their knowledge in this situation surpasses your knowledge.  If you are patient and listen to their words, they will be addressing your concerns shortly.”  And, in a matter of minutes all his concerns were brought out from different people around that table and resolutions were found to the satisfaction of all.

Isn’t that just like God?  He says what He means and He always keeps His promises, when we are obedient to Him. I found some powerful advice from the words my pastor shared with us today that I know I needed to hear and I wonder if anyone else needs to hear them too.  How many times do you find yourself wanting to say or even find yourself saying these words to people, “Do you know who I am?”  I think that question comes from a place of insecurity within each one of us, because if we truly know who we are…there is no need for that question to come out of our mouths.  If we are truly secure in who we are in Christ there is no need for us to announce our importance to others.  There is no need to have control over every situation because we know who holds our future and we know who is truly in control of our life.

When we trust God with the result then we can trust others to help us with the process. As John Donne said so eloquently, “No man is an island entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main; if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as well as a manor of thy friends or of thine own were; any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind.  And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.”

Dear Lord: 

I am no more and no less than my brothers or my sisters.  I am a child of the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords.  Let me find my worth and importance within you and to proclaim that knowledge throughout the world.  Lord I ask for you to forgive me for those times that I have felt the need to announce my importance to other people.  I want to be who You have called me to be and I know that in You I am worthy.  Thank you for loving me and showing me Your truth every day.  In Jesus Name I Pray, Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

