Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 19, 2012

God is for Me!

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.  What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?” Romans 8: 28-31

Are we only supposed to have friends that agree with every word that we speak and with every action that we take?   How do we determine who is for us and who is against us?  What exactly does that mean anyway?  Can someone explain that to me, cause I do not understand?  Doesn’t it say in the Bible that if our God is for us, who can be against us?

Did Jesus only hang with people who agreed with Him?  Does God only hang with people who agree with Him?  If we are isolating ourselves to only read or listen to a friend who we know agrees with us, could we be missing out on a message from God that He planted in someone just for us?  I have found that, normally the truth that God brings to me generally comes in the form of the challenging people in my lives…my supporters and encouragers usually have a harder time sharing His truth with me.

I don’t think that God wants us to allow ourselves to be continually assaulted either physically or verbally by people in our lives.  But, I think we need to be open to receiving the words of accountability from the people around us who demonstrate His love in their lives.  I have received lessons from the difficult people in my life as well as from the people who I know love me unconditionally.   I believe that God uses everyone in our lives to bring us the information that we need to be better for Him.

I know how difficult it is to learn a hard lesson from God and sometimes I have been known to blame the messenger for the message.  As, I listen to them speak or I read the words that they have been compelled to share, I feel unsettled and, I go immediately into justification mode.  I have even been known to only listen to the first few words out of their mouth and decide that I know exactly what they want to share with me and shut them down with my own words.  I know that I have missed out on many lessons from God with this method and I have also missed out on being the recipient of needed accountability in my life.

I think we need to let the Holy Spirit be our guide.  You don’t have to take ownership of those words immediately. You can and should, thank them for their words and let them know that you are going to go to the Lord in prayer for direction on the subject. But, it is important for you to let them speak, to give them a voice and filter their words through the Holy Spirit inside of you.  If the Spirit inside of you convicts you on some of their words, then thank God for the heart of this friend who loves you enough to speak some truth into your life.

Not everyone is going to be sowing truths into your life and for the people who you feel are just wanting to complain and might just be sowing hate into your life…take some time to sow some love into theirs.  Recognize that everyone has struggles; everyone needs to feel loved and respected and, everyone needs to have a voice.  When you open the lines of communication up and hear people through His ears and speak to them with His voice, you might just be sowing Godly seeds into a hurting soul.

When we allow ourselves to be approachable it makes it much easier for us to be teachable.  We are His sheep and sometimes we need to recognize the voice of our Father in the people who have been sent as His ambassadors for change in our life.  If you have built your life on the rock of His truth, you need to be constantly seeking His truth for your life…or else that foundation will start to crumble and turn to sand.   I want a firm life of faith, not one that can be easily shaken.

My Pastor said it best this morning, “You need to be open to the little tweaks to make it to the biggest peaks.”  Are you listening for the tweaks that you need to make in your life so that God can help you soar to the highest peaks that He has in store for you?

Dear Lord: 

(Ecclesiastes 4:9-12):I know that life change does not occur in a vacuum; it happens in relationship with others who know You and know me. I need others I can trust for strength and support. (Proverbs 27:17).  I ask that You help me to recognize those people who You are using in my life to make some tweaks and I ask that You help me to be both approachable and teachable.  I know that there are times that I have been called to do the approaching and to do the coaching, bring me into these moments filled with your love, grace and mercy. I want people see you in me and I want them to be able to trust that the words you have given me to share are coming out of the love that You have for them.  I pray that You bring it into each one of us to know that the truth is never easy to hear or to share and that you will use every word that is placed into our lives to the good when we love You! 

In Jesus name I pray,  Amen.

Responses

  1. Love your posts. This one is a hard message, but I know it is true. Often I pray for wisdom to if what someone has shared with me has any truth on it especially when it is shared by someone who is prone to criticizing. I have several friends who can tell me what I need to hear not necessarily what I want to hear because I know they love me & want the best for me. Everybody needs friends that hold them accountable.

    • It was a hard message to write. It has been in the works for days, written and rewritten many times. I had to be sure that it was coming from the Spirit inside of me and not from my flesh. My Pastor’s words today sealed the deal for me and gave me the green light to share this and I pray that it is received as He intended it to be. Because it is all about Him and His message…I am just the vessel He used today.


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

