Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 12, 2012

Permissible vs Beneficial

“You say, “I am allowed to do anything”–but not everything is good for you. And even though “I am allowed to do anything,” I must not become a slave to anything.” 1 Corinthians 6:12 (NLT)

Permissible vs Beneficial                                                                  

We don’t have to exercise; But is that really to our benefit?

We can eat that piece of cake; But is that really to our benefit?

We don’t have to stick to our plan; But is that really to our benefit?

We are allowed to quit; But is that really to our benefit?

We don’t have to forgive ourselves; But is that really to our benefit?

We don’t have to spend quiet time with God; But is that really to our benefit?

*********************************************************************************************************************

What things are you allowing yourself permission to do that are really not to your benefit in your walk with the Lord?  Because to me the bottom line is this, if our hearts are not in the right place with the Spirit in our center…no book that we read is going to help us, not even the Bible.  I think that we do need to spend time with Him today to center ourselves on Him and to ask Him to do His good work inside of us…first, foremost and always.  He should be our ultimate prize in everything that we do, even this Bible Study.

When we are solely operating in the flesh, we will get nowhere and we can lead other people nowhere with us.  I want to be an Ambassador of His love in other people’s lives and, to do that, I have to filter everything that I do through Him.  Lots of things are permissible in the world in which we live…but not all of these things are of benefit to us and the people that we influence, as God’s representatives on this earth.

If you are reading this and you have already spent time with God this morning, I am going to ask you to go back to the Lord at some point in your day today and ask Him to help you determine what things there may be in your life that you are granting your flesh permission to do that He feels are not to your benefit.  Please ask God to open the hearts of each person who reads this post today and ask Him help them to filter their permissible through HIS beneficial.

“Someone may say, “I’m allowed to do anything,” but not everything is helpful. I’m allowed to do anything, but not everything encourages growth.” 1 Corinthians 10:23 (God’s Word Translation)

This is my prayer for all of you this morning…click the link below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hwToU_wfj8s

Responses

  1. Oh yes open the eyes of my heart so that I will be a light of You to the world. So many things that I may see as permissable are CLEARLY not beneficial to the reflection that I need to be of HIM. One permissable action I choose could be a stumbling block or a turn off to a person who is just watching and searching for HIM. Thanks for sharing this my friend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

