Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 10, 2012

“Best Practices” Praying

This is God’s Word on the subject: “As soon as Babylon’s seventy years are up and not a day before, I’ll show up and take care of you as I promised and bring you back home. I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.  Jeremiah 29:10-11 

“Best Practice” is a term used in the business world as a technique or methodology that through experience and research has proven reliably to lead to a desired result.  It involves commitment to using all the knowledge, experience and technology at our disposal to ensure success.

I think it would be a great idea to apply the term, “Best Practices” to our prayer life.  We need to use all we know about the Bible and we need to understand the leanings of the Spirit inside of us to tap into the results we desire, the glory of God.

We need to be aware that there are three barriers to our achieving the “Best Practices” in our prayer life;

  1. A lack of knowledge
  2. A lack of motivation
  3. A lack of skills

To push past these barriers we need to thoroughly understand and know what it means to constantly be seeking God’s face in worship based prayer.  The first thing we need to do is to ask the Spirit inside of us to make us dissatisfied with the status quo and provide us with the motivation that we need to change.  We need to learn how to engage in prayer that will transform our lives and impact our hearts and, the hearts of the people around us.

In order to put “best practices” prayer into action we have to take an honest assessment about where we are in our walk with God.  We need to give God more than our spiritual leftovers to benefit from prayer that is transforming.  “If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.”  I believe that this means to seek Him with all that you have inside of you.  We are called to worship Him in spirit and in truth and to give Him our bodies as a living sacrifice.  He wants the absolute best that we can give, at all times.

God addresses spiritual leftovers in Malachi 1 and He makes it very clear that they were cheating Him of their best.  He did not like it.

“Oh, that one of you would shut the temple doors, so that you would not light useless fires on my altar! I am not pleased with you,” says the LORD Almighty, “and I will accept no offering from your hands. 11 My name will be great among the nations, from where the sun rises to where it sets. In every place incense and pure offerings will be brought to me, because my name will be great among the nations,” says the LORD Almighty.

“But you profane it by saying, ‘The Lord’s table is defiled,’ and, ‘Its food is contemptible.’ 13 And you say, ‘What a burden!’ and you sniff at it contemptuously,” says the LORD Almighty. Malachi 1:10-12 

The Lord does not require great quantities from us but He does expect our first and our best for Him every day.   This demonstrates to Him that we feel gratitude for all of the blessings that He bestows on us.  We are telling Him when we give Him our very best that we love Him as the one true God and that we Know He is worthy of our worship.

So, what are acceptable sacrifices in God’s eyes?

  • A commitment to worship in Spirit and Truth (John 4:22-24)
  • A genuine sacrifice of praise, giving thanks to His name (Hebrews 13:15)
  • The presentation of our bodies in complete surrender (Romans 12:1-2)
  • A life of love that produces right living (Philippians 1:9-11)
  • Doing everything “in the name of the Lord Jesus” with thanksgiving (Colossians 3:17)
  • Service conducted in supernatural power (1 Peter 4:11)
  • Generosity that flows from a heart of Love (Philippians 4:10-19)

God is not looking for a robotic ritual that we only commit to our time and energy to in the spirit of religious observation.  He wants us to come to Him with hungry hearts that desire to spend time with Him in praise, gratitude and loving surrender.  We need to come to Him with open hearts and open minds dedicated in love to pray, think and be just like Jesus.  Are you ready for some “Best Practices” praying?  I hope so…I will share more with you soon.

Dear Lord; 

I lift up my heart and my hands unto You in the heavens. (Lamentations 3:41)  Listen to the words from my heart as I kneel in worship to You.  If there is something that I need to confess to You God, I confess it to You now and ask Your forgiveness in my wrong doing.  I want to be centered fully on You and to be a vessel of Your wisdom, knowledge and love here on earth.  I am drawing near to You with a true heart and full assurance of my faith in You.  In Jesus Name, Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

