Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 8, 2012

Earnestly Seeking Correction

This is the transcript I followed for my very first..”rog”, my word totally made it up, as far as I know.  So you have two ways to receive this message, you can read it or you can follow the link below to listen to me speak this message.  It is all to His glory!!

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.  Hebrews 11:6

“Let’s Keep Running Our Faith Race Today. It does not matter who is cheering us on or putting us down. If you think about it, what good will it do if we run for the praises of people and conquer nothing for the Kingdom of God?”  Sheri Rose Shepherd

I think it is only human to need encouragement and confirmation from other people.  I think that God does want us to encourage each other.  But, we need to not fall into the trap of ONLY looking to others for our validation.  We should not seek out their approval; we should only seek the approval of God and consider the affirmations from others as a bonus.

I share all of this because this is what God is working on within me right now.  On Friday of last week I allowed what wasn’t said offend me.  Let me explain…I was having an on-line discussion with someone and a third person came into the conversation to post supporting words for the person that I was interacting with on face book.  I did not look at this as a nice gesture on the third person’s part; I decided to allow myself to be offended by the fact that I was not included in the beautiful words that were shared.  I forgot the words from this verse found in Psalm 118:6, “The LORD is for me, so I will have no fear. What can mere people do to me?”

I know that I am responsible for my reactions to the actions of others.  I do not know the heart condition of this third person at the time of her post and I am still in the dark about her intentions but, I do know this…I am only to be concerned with the condition of my heart and with my intentions, at all times.  It is between her and God; it has nothing to do with me.

What I did next though has everything to do with me.  I should have left it right there on that face book page.  I should have looked to Jesus and asked Him to help power me through the moment, but even though at the time I felt I filtered my response through Him, upon reflection I think that I did operate in the flesh with what I wrote on my personal wall.  I know I used my words as a weapon and to gain myself some sympathy.  I made the problem bigger by my post and other people started misinterpreting the words in the original posts and made the original discussion into something it was never intended to be.

This situation snowballed because I allowed myself to be hurt that I was not included in the nice words intended for someone else.  As I write these words I sound pretty selfish.  It sounds like just what it is…I want the confirmation from others that my friend received, when the only one that I should be looking to is God.

I learned today that I am not just limited in my knowledge of how great God is, I am also limited in my knowledge of what motivates other people.  That is why it is so important to spend time with our Father every day.  I know that He reveals Himself to me through my quiet time with Him and He will also reveal some insights into the people in my life during these times too.  It is through His revelations about Himself and others that I truly can begin to understand the greatness of His power…the strength of His might and the depth of His love for me.

It is a good thing to spend time with Him praying and looking for insight from Him about the people you love and care about.  But, I hear Him telling me that it is even more important to go to Him and seek the truth in my own life.  He is telling me today to read His words and look for His truth for me.

Sometimes I will be reading something in my Bible or my devotions and my mind starts picking out the people who I think would benefit from those words.  “So and so needs to read this…I am going to share this because, God knows, they need to hear this message from Him today.”  And you know what…maybe they do.  But, if I am spending all of my quiet time looking for ways to correct or help other people…I am missing the correction and the help He has for me.  I must write His words on my own heart first and use them for the plans He has for me before they will ever impact the people around me.  I must make it right with Him and I must make it right with the people around me before I can be used as His vessel of truth.

So, this is me making it right.  This is me saying that the possibility exists that I misread the intentions of another on Friday.  The possibility exists that the Lord laid it on her heart to share those words with our friend because my friend needed to hear them.  Maybe I was omitted because there was a lesson for me in that situation and that God wanted to use it for some correction in my life.    Lord, I stand corrected.  Thank You for loving me!

 http://chirb.it/pPfqgL

Responses

  1. Patti, it takes a very mature child of the King to do what you did. A true leader cannot lead anyone beyond where she is herself, and you proved today that you are a very strong leader and a great example of a godly woman. Thank You Lord for the work You are doing in Patti’s heart. I pray that You would bless this act of obedience, heal any misunderstandings between the participants, and make the relationships even stronger. In Jesus Holy Name, Amen.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Dawn. I am thankful that He loves us enough to correct us and help us in this crazy mixed up world. I am an example of a Godly woman, I hope…but not a great one. I am a work in progress and I am further along in my journey today than I was yesterday. I am doing my best and right now I believe God is saying that is good enough…for today. New lessons will be coming tomorrow I am sure, thank the good Lord for that!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

