Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 1, 2012

Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

“With your help I can advance against a troop; and with my God I can scale a wall, (or a hill).”  Psalm 18:29

“Mandate to Change”…I believe that if you have decided to go forward in this study that God has issued a mandate to you for changing your current lifestyle. I would like for each of you to consider what you think God is asking you to change and write out a resolution or contract between you and God. You may keep this between you and God or you can share it with the group. Whether you share or not, Wednesday’s we will be lifting each other up in prayer to God for help in meeting the objectives that we have set for ourselves in our contracts/resolutions with God.”

I remember well, the day that God gave me the Daily Plan for this group and how He encouraged me to use the “MTC” letters for a different plan for each day of the week.  He gave me many challenges for my personal, “Mandate to Change” and He seems to be adding to them as we get deeper into this study.  I had a God-wink moment this morning during my quiet time while I was reading my devotion in Jesus Calling.  God is walking hand in hand with a friend of mine, whose name shall remain nameless, but she knows who she is….LOL!

This is my story to share from a part of a my quiet time this morning, it is all about accountability and truth being poured into my life.  As I was reading Jesus Calling this morning I actually laughed, out-loud, at God’s sense of humor.  At one point over the past few weeks of the MTC study we had a discussion about walking the hills in our neighborhoods.  I mentioned that there are quite a few hills in my subdivision, one in particular that I avoid at all costs.  This hill is my nemesis and I call it “cardiac hill’ in honor of a similar hill on the grounds of my alma mater, Southeast Missouri State.  At the end of our discussion I was determined to tackle this hill by the end of January and made that as one of my goals.

This past Sunday my nameless friend asked me how I was doing on my hills and I had to confess that my determination did no match my efforts.  I have not even attempted those hills.  I have been exercising strictly indoors.  I told her that I would make this as a new goal but, of course, I did not include a timeframe for my new goal.  She told me that she would continue to pray for me and to hold me accountable.  She does not know…only God, my husband and I know how much I despise that hill.

So, now we are all on the same page of the Jesus Calling devotion from this morning…

“You see huge mountains looming and you start wondering how you’re going to scale those heights.”  

Are you kidding me here, God????  Really are you going to go there????  You are talking about metaphorical hills in this devotion; you are not talking about my “cardiac” in the subdivision, right????  RIGHT????   (Imagine me on my hands and knees right now begging, and imagine God with His hands on His hips, smiling at my antics, slowly nodding His head up and down).  Yep, He is going there, no doubt about it.  “Patti, keep reading though, I am going to make you a promise about all the hills in your life both real and metaphorical.”

“There may be an easier way up the mountains than is visible from this distance.  (Here’s the promise, don’t miss it).  If I do lead you up the cliffs, I will equip you thoroughly for that strenuous climb.” 

So, what “mandates to change” has God called you to through this study that you have been missing out on because of a lack of “determination?”  Stand with me on God’s promises and lets begin the climb together.

Dear God: 

You know that I have a mind block when it comes to that hill and to other hills in my life.  But, I am going to trust you with all of them and walk in obedience to your call.  Thanks for the accountability that you bring into my life and that You have brought women into my life that love me enough to stand with me and make sure that I am doing the things that He is asking of me. 

In Jesus name, Amen.

P. S. My daughter proofread this and was able to name the exact street that my hill is on…so she knows this about me too!!!  🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9kP8IRXBymE

Responses

  1. He is so good!!!!! Praying for you on this journey up those Hills, my friend ❤

  2. OH YOU CAN DO IT PATTI, ONE STEP AT A TIME, MAKE THAT HILL ABOUT TALKING TO YOUR ABBA ABOUT THE ONE THING THAT IS ON YOUR HEART AND USE THAT HILL TO TALK TO HIM. DONT THINK ABOUT THE HILL. PRAYING FOR YOU AND LOOK FORWARD TO WHEN YOU GET TO SHARE THAT YOU MADE IT TO THE TOP! LOVE YOU MY FRIEND!!

    • Update to my cardiac hill…did I make a mountain out of a molehill…check, did I reduce that mountain back to a molehill..check…did I conquer my molehill tonight…check. As I started to turn the corner to walk that molehill…I looked up and God blessed me with a beautiful big bright star!!! Goal met first day of the new month!!!

      • Way to go on day 1


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

