Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 31, 2012

My Strength and My Shield

I started out my quiet time with the daily devotion from Jesus Calling and this is the wonderfully good news that God shared with me from this devotion.

He is my strength and He is my shield.  He is in charge of my day-timer and He has my day planned for me before I even wake up.  He will supply all of the strength that I need for each day.  I need to dial into the plans He has for me and let Him be my source of energy.  He will provide me with my daily to-do list and all that I need to achieve those items for His glory.  He only asks that I seek His face, keep the doors of communication open and lean on Him so I do not give into my worry.

Whenever worry raises its ugly head I need to remind myself that my strength comes from Him and that He is my shield of protection.  The best thing about trusting Him with everything is that God is always alert and active.  God has it all under control; He is the best security system around.  His presence alone is all I need for protection from dangers both known and unknown.  He is with me wherever I go; He is my strength and He is my shield.

Psalm 28:7 “The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me.  My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.” 

I love the feeling that reading this verse brought to me this morning…”My heart leaps for joy,” reading this my heart really did leap for joy!  “My heart trusts in Him, and He helps me.”

Matthew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” 

I think more than any verse I have read this one speaks the loudest to me and convicts me the strongest that when I worry, I am not trusting God with the situation.  I have been given just enough strength from God to make it through this day and I need to trust that He has my tomorrows.

Psalm 56:3-4 “When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise—in God I trust and am not afraid.  What can mere mortals do to me?” 

My thoughts really wondered far off topic as I was reading these passages in the Bible.  God placed it in my heart to consider our founding Fathers and the emphasis that they placed on the words, “In God we trust.”  Did they consider these very verses while they were making decisions about the starting of this new country?  Could the United States of America be standing on the foundation of the truth we find in these verses?  Were they all standing in a room together praying to our Father and saying, “We trust in You God, the foundation of this country will be built on Your solid rock, mortal man has no power over this dominion, only you.”

I serve an awesome God and I just need to thank Him again for all He has done for me and yes, for even shutting down my internet.  The doors for our continual communication are open wide and I ask that He keep pouring His truth and His wisdom into my life.

Be, Lord Jesus, a bright flame before me, a guiding star above me, a smooth path below me, a kindly shepherd behind me: today, tonight and forever more. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Quiet time accountability for day 3….60 minutes so far today.  Yesterday I met the quiet time goal in the afternoon.  Thanks for all the prayers and encouragement.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peD5gPg8vR8

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

