Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 29, 2012

Worthy of His Love

“This is what you always need to know:

You have nothing to prove to anyone –

if you’re in Him, you are already approved.”

 Ann Voskamp

This excerpt is from a devotion that a friend shared with me today and the reading I did in the Bible Study, “Made to Crave,” spoke to my heart today.  I will admit to reading Chapter 7 on Sunday night instead of waiting and reading it on Monday.  I read it at God’s urging and now I am going to sound like a peppy cheerleader, you will meet her in Chapter 7, P…E…R…F…E…C…T, Perfect timing, Perfect God…Go God Go!!!

Why did I need God to share these words with me today?  It all revolves around the 30 day challenge that I agreed to yesterday.  If you are not aware of this challenge that I received from God yesterday…check out my “Internet Interrupted” blog first and then come back and read this.  Today was day one of my challenge and I will admit to having a to-do check list to keep me on track for this challenge.

  1.  Read the devotion for the day in Jesus Calling.
  2.  Look up and read Bible verses from the devotion.
  3.  Journal my thoughts and feelings from the devotion’s message.
  4.  Pray about the devotion and over the prayer requests in my journal.
  5.  Turn on some praise and worship music.  Be still in His presence and listen.

I am also making a note of the time that I start my quiet time and I do look at the clock when I am through.  It is the only way that I know that I am meeting the minimum time that I have promised to God each day.

All of this leads to my discussion today with a friend about this challenge, which goes directly to the reason I needed to read these words from God today. I was sharing with her what had happened over the last several days and the lessons that God seemed to want me to learn.  I told her that I had accepted a challenge from God to spend a minimum of 72 minutes with Him on a daily basis for the next 30 days.  I told her that this was just not going to be for 30 days; that I wanted to make this a part of my new healthy lifestyle change for God, but this first 30 days is my training ground.  My preparation period for a lasting change in my life.

To say that she was underwhelmed would be an understatement.  As a matter of fact, I felt like she was belittling the amount of time that I had promised to God each day.  At that moment, I too felt the need to go into fix-it mode, just like Lysa discusses in Chapter 7.  I started feeling really bad about myself and wondering why on earth I thought that 72 minutes was enough time to sacrifice out of my day compared to all that He had sacrificed for me.  I was allowing her words to determine my worth, just like I sometimes allow the number on the scale determine my worth.

But, God was not going to let Satan win this one from me either…He dropped some words into my head that got me through that moment.

“This challenge has nothing to do with her, and everything to do with God and you.  Remember, Patti, He has been giving you signs of confirmation ever since you agreed to His challenge.  God seems to be satisfied with the terms of your agreement and if He wants you to change them, He will let you know.”

I smiled at my friend and thanked her for the input.  I then asked her to pray for me and to provide me with some much-needed encouragement to meet His challenge.  I told her that I would need all the help I could get and I even asked her to hold me accountable.  It was amazing the change that came over her…she became my cheerleader and told me that she would be happy to pray for me.

I know that this will not be my last attack from Satan, either and I know that he will use people and situations to get me off track.  But, I am going to use the words from Ann Voskamp’s devotion and these words, from Chapter 7 in “Made to Crave”, as weapons to defend myself from the attacks from the devil.  (I have changed the words slightly from how they were written in the book to fit my situation.)

“My friend’s inadvertent statement was not life and it was not godly.  Therefore, I don’t have to internalize it.  I can leave it on the sidewalk and walk away.  Her statement didn’t belong to me.  Her statement is not my issue.  I have a choice to make.  I could feed that comment and make it into an identity crusher; or I could see it for what it was, a careless comment.”

I am going to use these words to demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and I am going to take captive every thought to make it obedient to God. (2 Corinthians 10:5)

By the way, day 1 of my challenge has been successful, in many ways!  To God I give all the honor and the glory!

Dear Heavenly Father; 

Lord, sometimes when I look in the mirror I’m not too happy with what I see. Please let me see me the way you made me, beautiful and perfect just as I am. Help me to hold this image in my mind and heart as I follow my life’s path. Allow others to witness your light shining through me as I walk with confidence, grace and a smile on my face. Please strengthen my faith for your higher purpose and open my mind to the truth that everything is unfolding according to your divine plan. Let compassion and love flow from me and may we all be uplifted by your glory. In Jesus Name I pray, Amen.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Od9CHXnOTbo&feature=related

 

Responses

  1. “This challenge has nothing to do with her, and everything to do with God and you.”

    Patti, this is exactly what he spoke to me yesterday( about something different) He is absolutely the best encourager in the world! Thanks for putting this down. I am thinking I need to write more things down as He tells me so i remember and can look back! You are a blessing in my life( thank You Lord)

    “My friend’s inadvertent statement was not life and it was not godly. Therefore, I don’t have to internalize it. I can leave it on the sidewalk and walk away. Her statement didn’t belong to me. Her statement is not my issue. I have a choice to make. I could feed that comment and make it into an identity crusher; or I could see it for what it was, a careless comment.”

    I am going to use these words to demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and I am going to take captive every thought to make it obedient to God. (2 Corinthians 10:5)”

    I highlighted this in my book(kindle touch) !!

    I am going to use these words to demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and I am going to take captive every thought to make it obedient to God. (2 Corinthians 10:5)

    By the way, day 1 of my challenge has been successful, in many ways! To God I give all the honor and the glory!

    Dear Heavenly Father;

    Lord, sometimes when I look in the mirror I’m not too happy with what I see. Please let me see me the way you made me, beautiful and perfect just as I am. Help me to hold this image in my mind and heart as I follow my life’s path. Allow others to witness your light shining through me as I walk with confidence, grace and a smile on my face. Please strengthen my faith for your higher purpose and open my mind to the truth that everything is unfolding according to your divine plan. Let compassion and love flow from me and may we all be uplifted by your glory. In Jesus Name I pray, Amen.””

    AMEN and AMEN
    I will be cheering you on and praying over the miles….

    • Thanks for your encouragement Tracey! God is moving in my life and I am so happy to just be going along with Him. He has the best GPS system and He never makes a wrong turn. I just have to keep handing Him the wheel and taken my hands off.


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

