Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 28, 2012

Internet Interrupted

”Oh, Lord you have searched me and you know me, You know when I sit and when I rise; You perceive my thoughts from afar.  You discern my going our and my lying down; You are familiar with all my ways.  Before a word is on my tongue You know it completely, O Lord”. Psalm 139:1-4 

My husband made the decision to have our home phone number disconnected.  We don’t use it; people that we want to talk to, don’t use it…so, why pay for it.  He called the phone company and told them to cancel our home phone.  Thus began MY conversations and interactions with our phone company; which also by the way supplies us our internet connection.

In order for our internet to work without a phone line, we would need a new modem AND, “Don’t worry it will be an easy self-installation process.”   We were then told that when we receive the new modem we should do the following, disconnect the old modem, hook up the new modem, follow the registration procedures…bada bing bada boom…you’re back up and running.”

If only life were that easy!!!!!  Here I sit with my pen and my paper writing all of this down, waiting for the 3rd technician, in 3 days to show up and see if he can figure out how to get our “easy self-installed modem” to work.

I decided to first write this out the old-fashioned way, with pen and paper, and then type it; there is a lesson for me in this situation and I felt it was all tied up in my laptop/internet/computer time.  Why don’t you join me and together let’s see all that God showed me over the past 2 days that has brought me to this conclusion.  I think you will be glad you did, there might be a lesson in this for you too!

The lesson started the very day that we realized this was not going to be a simple installation.  I belong to two on-line Bible study groups and the devotion that I read on Thursday from my “Trusting God” A Girlfriends in God Faith Adventure Bible study included these verses from 2 Timothy 3: 14-17;

“All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives.  It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do right.  God uses it to prepare and equip His people to do every good work.” 

Could God be trying to tell me something?  Is there some area in my life in which I need some correction?  Well, if there is Lord…you have my attention!   I decided to get out my Bible and read all of 2 Timothy 3 and guess what I found, “You must remain FAITHFUL!”   Mmmmmmmmmm, what did I say my label would have been from my personal reflections for chapter 5 in the “Made to Crave” study…oh yes, I remember…”faithless one.”  Have I not been remaining faithful, Lord?   Is that what you are trying to tell me?  I heard these words…”slow down…always in a hurry… keep reading.”

I thought about what was on my to do list and remembered that I needed to do the personal reflection section in Chapter 6 for my other Bible study, “Made to Crave”, so I got out my book and reread chapter 6 and just like always…He had something for me in this reading too.

“Being ruled by anything other than God is something God takes quite seriously. And so should I.”  Chapter 6 page 66, “Made to Crave” (Do you see what I see from this citation???) 

I read those words and felt a tug in my soul.  So, this is what I have put together, so far from my readings and being in His presence;

  1. God is doing some correction in my life.
  2. It might have something to do with my faith walk.
  3. I might be allowing something else first place in my life over God.

I decided that I needed to spend some time with Him in prayer and meditation.  So, I put all the books away, except my Bible, and spent time with Him through praying the verses and just being still in His presence.  This is how I ended my night last night; with Him, and I fell asleep listening to some praise music.  Note to self: you slept longer and better than you have in some time.

When I woke up this morning I did not immediately go find my laptop to see if miraculously the internet connection was working.  I instead went and found my “Jesus Calling” devotion book and opened it up to the January 28th reading…the truth just kept pouring out of Him.

“When my presence is the focal point of your consciousness, all the pieces of your life fall into place.  As you gaze at me through the eyes of your heart, you can see the world around you through my perspective.  The fact that I am with you makes every moment of your life meaningful.”

Every single thing that I am reading and hearing from Him over the last several days seems to be bringing me to the conclusion that I have not been as centered on Him as I thought I was.  I may have been sharing His truth with others, but I was not spending the time with Him that I need to spend with Him.  I need to be renewed each day and the best way to get that renewal is being still in His presence for longer than 5 minutes a day.  His presence needs to be the focal point of my consciousness; I cannot allow myself to be ruled by anything or anyone over Him and because He knows me so well I have to allow this time for His correction and His direction in my life.

I made a decision based on this conclusion and I am going to be intentional in spending good, quality time with God.  With all this time on my hands I decided to go back and read some of the notes that I take during the message each Sunday from my Pastor.  I found some notes from a sermon last year where he issued us a challenge; he asked us to commit to spending 72 minutes a day with God.  He said that it was up to us whether we spent the 72 minutes all at once or divided it up throughout the day, but for 30 days he wanted us to give God 72 minutes out of our day.  I have a new “mandate for change” from God and I am going to be dedicating 72 minutes of my day to Him, starting with the next 30 days and who knows it just might be another life style change for me. These minutes will be spent in prayer, reading the Bible, journaling, listening to praise and worship music and, just being still in His presence listening with the eyes of my heart.

This is what God brought to me over the last 48 hours or more and I am so glad that He forced me to take this timeout.  The devil had nothing to do with my internet interruption; he loved the time that I spent on-line; he knew that I was too busy doing God’s work and not enough time letting God work on me.  One more thing I need to share…God played a song for me this morning on the radio, it started playing as soon as I turned my radio on…in case I doubted what He wanted from me, He decided to use my love for music to bring the point home; Hillsong United, “From the Inside Out.”  I think that sealed the deal for me.

Lord, help me to be still in your presence.  Allow me to hear Your voice.

Lord, You are with me at all times and You want me to be with You.

Consume me from the inside, out!  Your glory does go beyond all things.

Allow me to accept your correction and Your direction in my life.

Lord, You know everything about me and You love me anyway

Allow me to put my trust totally and fully in You!

To You I give all the praise and the glory for a disconnected internet!

In Jesus name I pray, Amen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-afZJ9_TIM&feature=related

Responses

  1. Wow! 72 minutes a day seems like so much..yet it is only 5% of a day (I had to use a calculator to figure it out)…I am going to pray about this myself. I have felt lately like I waste so much time doing things that are not related to my “calling,” this would certainly be a great start toward managing my time better. I definitely will consider this Patti! Thank you for sharing your heart with us once again. We were made for more!

  2. Yes we were!!! He did make us for much more than we see or realize all of the time. We have to step up and accept all that He has for us! All about being centered and intentional!

  3. Thank-you.

  4. Goes along perfectly with the last lesson I posteGodin Trusting God group about QUALITY time. I’m hearing it too Patti…loud and clear!!! I’m taking this challenge with you!!! This is truly a God thing!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

