Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 21, 2012

Above all else, Celebrate the Life!

“And regarding the question, friends, which has come up about what happens to those already dead and buried, we don’t want you in the dark any longer. First off, you must not carry on over them like people who have nothing to look forward to, as if the grave were the last word. Since Jesus died and broke loose from the grave, God will most certainly bring back to life those who died in Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 4:13

This past week within the circle of my friends here on face book, there has been a lot of talk about the loss of parents, most specifically the loss of a mother.  I thank God that I still have both of my parents and I am totally aware that when that time comes I will be grieving their loss, but I hope that I will also be able to celebrate their life.  I have not walked in any of your shoes; the only thing that I can say is that I pray this helps just one person out there suffering the loss of a parent.  The Bible verse above says “that we are not supposed to be like people who have nothing to look forward to, as if the grave were the last word.”

I know a young woman named Jackie; she lost her mother, Sharon, to heart disease a few years back.  Jackie does not know the Lord and her grieve consumed her every day. I watch the grief that she suffered and my heart broke for her.  Soon, after her mother passed away, Jackie decided that she and her husband should have a baby.  The days leading up to the birth of her baby girl, Samantha Ann, were filled with regret that her mother was not going to be there to help her and guide her in her new role as “Mommy.”  A time when Jackie should have been anticipating with great joy became an albatross around her neck.  Jackie was crying every day and was going deeper into depression the closer the time came for her to give birth to this precious baby. I was getting daily updates on Jackie’s condition from her mother-in-law and each day I would go to the Lord in prayer for this young woman that was soon going to be a mother.  One morning during my quiet time I heard this…..

”Patti, what if you were Sharon and Jackie was Sara?”

“God, you are going to have to get a little bit more specific with me here.  Where do you want me to go with this question?’

“Patti, I need you to be Jesus for this young woman.  I need you to look within your Mama’s heart, decide how you want Sara and Keith to feel when you pass this earth and then share this knowledge with Jackie.”

“OOOOH!  I see where you are taking me!  Thank You God!  I will share this with Jackie.  You truly amaze me each and every day and I praise you for loving Jackie this much.”

That very day, I received a phone call from Jackie’s mother-in-law that Jackie was coming to her house and could I please come over to talk to her.  As I made my way to the house, I asked God to give me just the right words that Jackie needed to hear before she gave birth to her baby girl.  I also told God that if this was what He really wanted me to share that He would need to open a door to the conversation and when that door opened I would walk in obedience to Him.

I got to the house and Jackie was just pulling into the driveway.  We both got out of our cars and she turned to greet me.  I was walking down the driveway towards her and as she looked at me, waiting for me to get closer; I could see the tears running down her face.

“Jackie, sweetie, what is wrong?” I asked her while giving her a hug.

“I miss my mom so much, Patti, this is just too hard.  Why did I think that I could be a mom without her help?”

I stepped back from our hug, placed my hands on her shoulders, looked her in the eyes and said a quick prayer to God…

”Jackie, I have something to share with you and it comes direct from your Mom and God.  This morning during my quiet time, God lay on my heart some words that He wants you to hear from your Mom.  She loves you so very much and she is very proud of you.  She is so happy that you have decided to have this baby and she knows that you are going to be a wonderful mommy.  But, the pain that you are living with every day is not how she wants you to live.  I know this because this is not what I want for Sara and Keith when I die.  Mother’s do not like it when their children are in pain and hurting.  We rejoice when they rejoice and we cry when they cry.  She does not want you to grieve like this or allow your grief to overshadow one of the greatest experiences in your life.  You were a gift from God to her and she was so happy on the day you were born and from that time forward you filled her days with laughter, tears, silliness and joy; you filled her days with life.  She does not want her death to rob you of that same happiness with Samantha. She does not want her death to rob you of your life with Samantha.  Don’t remember her and be unhappy…remember her and celebrate the years that you had together, the fun things that you did as a family and all the ways that she showed you how to love Samantha because of how she loved you.”

There it is friends; that was my message from God and Sharon for Jackie and it is my message this morning from each of your parents and from our heavenly Father who loves each of you so very much too.  He is our Father and He rejoices when we rejoice and it grieves Him when we grieve.   I know that all I have shared with you is true, it says it in the Bible verse above and because in my Mama’s heart this is what I want for my own children.  Isn’t this what you want for yours too???  Grieve the loss, but just for a moment…because above all else I want my life and my death to be celebrated by people that know, I am living eternally through the blood that was shed for me on the cross at Calvary!

 

Dear Lord,

Thank You for sending Your Son to this earth

 to save a wretch like me.

Thank You that I once was lost but,

 You cared enough to find me.

Thank You for the long life of my parents and

 all that they have given to me.

Thank You that they are saved and

that they will be living with you eternally.

Help me Lord when the time comes for my parents to join You

 to remember your promises and celebrate the life that they lived.

Thank you that I can be secure in the knowledge

 that we will all be together again, in heaven with You. 

What a glorious day that will be!!

 

In Jesus precious name I pray,

Amen

Responses

  1. Amen, Patti! I so totally agree! I want my daughters to continue the legacy that my mama started…being a loving, generous, and godly mother! Praying that what you said to Jackie rings in her ears every day and allows her to love Samantha and rejoice! I love your prayer too! What a glorious day indeed~


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

