Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 16, 2012

My Disclaimer

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Last week someone posted a video to my personal face book page and it bothered me because I put my own spin on why she shared this video with me.  She is best friends with my daughter and I am the caregiver for her son.  She knows that I am a Christian because I share that I believe in Jesus with both her and her husband in ways that I feel are being led by God.  Even though she attended church as a teenager and went to a Christian college she seems to be an agnostic now and her husband is an atheist.  I soon found out that I was totally wrong about why she shared the video with me and regrettably, for me, I had spent a couple of hours wondering what she wanted me to see or learn from the video.

This got me to thinking about how people can read into the words that are posted on face book or that we send via a text message.  I know that I am guilty of sometimes reading more into the words that I read from people and that must mean that people can also read things into what I send too.  This has led me to believe that maybe we need a disclaimer posted to our pages for anyone that wanders onto our homepage or, direct them to our disclaimer, whenever we post onto the newsfeed or post to any group that we belong to on face book.

I would love to hire a fast talking person to record the disclaimer and then I would just post it as a link to my wall, what do you think?  Do I have a point here?  Have you ever read someone’s post and thought either they were leaving you a pointed message or wondered what the tone of their voice would be if they spoke those words to you, rather than typed them out.

And, that right there is the problem with face book and texting or any form of written communication between one or more people.  When I read something that someone has written it is up to me to emphasize certain words and phrases or to place a tone to the words that I am reading.  Which means that I am placing my own interpretation to someone else’s words and maybe, just maybe, my understandings of those words are not as they intended?  This means that I can have my feelings hurt or I can hurt someone else’s feelings all due to a misunderstanding with how we read the message.

Friends, there is only one message that we need to put this much thought into or put that much time into understanding…that is the message that comes from God.  We don’t need to read anything into what He shares on our page because He makes it very clear in His word!  He loves us and He cares for us, He will never leave us or forsake us and He has a wonderful plan for our lives to bring us to an expected end; eternal life with Him.  I am sharing this prayer as my disclaimer for all posts and text messages that you see from me!  And, if you are ever in doubt about the intent of my words…all you have to do is ask and I will happily clarify my words for you.

Dear Lord,

I ask that you be with each one of us as we read the posts that we find on  pages that we visit on face book and as we read text messages from friends and family.  I ask that you place a spirit of love within each of us as we read AND help us not to put our own interpretation on the words that we read.  If at any point we are unsure of what we are seeing, place a conviction within our spirit to go to that person for clarification.  We cannot move forward in our walk with You when we are carrying this type of baggage within our hearts.  Help me to interact with all people that you bring into my live, with a love that can only come from You.  Make me a vessel of your love and understanding every day. 

In Jesus name,

Amen

 

Responses

  1. Wow, I read this and felt like I had been hit right in the gut, not because of you but because you shared this. Just this past weekend I posted on someone’s facebook page with the intent of “I hope they get the point(of the dart) I was throwing. I said it nicely but I threw it ugly. I will indeed feel the nudge from this point on to now be a dart thrower and if I have any question about what I read from a friend I will talk to that person in realtime. Love you Patti and I love that you share God with me!

  2. now=not

  3. Understand completely. I have preached this often. No tone of voice, no inflection, no facial expression or body language to read. So glad you shared your heart with us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

