Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 7, 2012

Keeping the Peace!

So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.
What can mere mortals do to me?”  Hebrews 13:6

I started putting some materials together on Tuesday this past week, as a lesson plan, for a chapter out of the book, “Trusting God”. This book is co-authored by Sharon Jaynes, Gwen Smith and Mary Southerland of Girlfriend’s in God.  I did not get far into my lesson plan on Tuesday before I saved it to my computer and closed it out.  I did not open the word document to look at my notes again until Friday, a day where I had allowed mere mortals to stress me out and mess with my peace.  Now, I want you to pay particular attention to these words, “where I allowed.”  When I opened this document, what I saw at the top of the page was, “So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.  What can mere mortals do to me?”  What a God wink moment this was for me!!!  I will tell you this; no matter what I allowed myself to go through on Friday…I can now answer the question that is found in that Bible Verse at the top of this page; “Mere mortals can only do to me what I allow them to do to me!!” 

I kept wondering what God was trying to show me through all I had gone through Friday and I had even shared that very thought with one of my friends.  I knew there was a lesson in all of this for me and God revealed it to me, pretty quickly.  My problem was I was looking for my peace in the wrong place.  I was looking for my peace to come from me; not from Him.  But, the Bible tells us that peace comes from Jesus;

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33

When I read this Bible verse I had one of those “slap myself on the side of the head moments.”   Do you ever have moments like that??

”I have told you these things!!!”  Well, of course you have told me these things, Jesus!!!

“…so that in me you may have peace,” as one of my good friends likes to say, “OUCH!”

 “In this world you will have trouble.”  Yep, I remember that you mentioned that one to me too.

“But take heart!”  Oh, boy this is getting good, I feel a promise coming on!

“I have overcome the world.”  Woo Hoo….there is the pay off, He already fought my battle for me, I am an over-comer because He already overcame!

I had another good friend tell me on Friday morning that “…people will almost always fail me and not live up to my expectations.  We cannot put our trust or faith in THEM, only in our creator.”  The not so funny part about my day on Friday is…there were 2 separate incidents with the same individuals; one in the morning and then one again in the afternoon.  Someone else had been God in the flesh here on earth for me Friday morning and instead of remembering her words and proving to God that I had learned my lesson…I went right back out and removed myself from the peace He offers me every day!

Now if I wanted to leave it right there and beat myself up over not learning His lesson the first time, I could.  Or, I could pick door number 2 and say my day on Friday was all about teaching me a lesson that I would not easily forget and that, hopefully, I would pass it onto each of you.  God really wanted to make sure that I understood His Bible verse for this week… 

“So, we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.
What can mere mortals do to me?”  Hebrews 13:6 

And the lesson I learned to pass on to each of you is…“Mere mortals can only do to me what I allow them to do to me!!”

Taking Action: The lesson I learned today is that I need reminders to help me to stay in God’s perfect will for my life.  In a conversation with a friend, (I sure am glad that I have some God friends to help me out), the idea of using a circle was introduced to my mind.  Inside the circle are the things or people who will help you keep your heart and mind-set on the objective…the word in the middle of the circle.  Outside of the circle are the things or people who will not help you meet your objective.  Get out a piece of paper and draw a circle on the paper.  In the middle of the circle draw a rectangle that you can place the word PEACE inside.  I want you to write words in the circle that YOU KNOW you will need to keep your mind and heart heading toward that word PEACE.  Outside of the circle I want you to write those words that YOU KNOW will keep you outside of the PEACE He has for you.  You don’t have to pick the word PEACE; you can pick a word that you struggle with in your walk with God.  I picked PEACE because I lost mine on Friday, several times.  You may need several word circles in your life.  My suggestion would be to put these pieces of paper up around your house or in a safe place so you can use them when you run up against those things that want you outside of that circle.  The circle represents you and the word in the middle is the Spirit inside of you.  You always want to be in the circle with the Spirit, that’s where you are safe.

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love,
Where there is injury, pardon
Where there is doubt, faith,
Where there is despair, hope,
Where there is darkness, light,
Where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much
seek to be consoled as to console,
not so much to be understood as to understand,
not so much to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
it is in dying that we awake to eternal life. — St. Francis of Assisi

In Jesus name I pray, Amen

Responses

  1. beauitful, my friend ❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

