Posted by: heisourstrongtower | December 16, 2011

Learning to Live with Curly Hair

And Mary said, 

 I’m bursting with God-news; 
      I’m dancing the song of my Savior God. 
      God took one good look at me, and look what happened— 
      I’m the most fortunate woman on earth! 
   What God has done for me will never be forgotten, 
      the God whose very name is holy, set apart from all others. 
   His mercy flows in wave after wave 
      on those who are in awe before him. 
   He bared his arm and showed his strength, 
      scattered the bluffing braggarts. 
   He knocked tyrants off their high horses, 
      pulled victims out of the mud. 
   The starving poor sat down to a banquet; 
      the callous rich were left out in the cold. 
   He embraced his chosen child, Israel; 
      he remembered and piled on the mercies, piled them high. 
   It’s exactly what he promised, 
      beginning with Abraham and right up to now.  Luke 1: 46-55

I have my best conversations with God in the morning.  As a matter of fact, we confer in the bathroom, as I get ready for my day.  This morning’s epiphany came as I was drying my hair.  Let me start out by sharing with you that I am 53 years old and I am way past menopause, (this is called setting the stage for those of you who have not reached this milestone in your life), for the majority of those 53 years I was blessed with thick, stick straight hair.  I have never needed to use a straightener in my life.

My hair has changed since menopause and  the aging process…I now have thick, curly hair…frizzy, out of control, refuses to mind…curly hair.  I am an expert on straight hair, I have no trouble styling straight hair…curly hair has become the bane of my existence.  So, now that you all have your fingers in my hair, I will continue…

I was trying to blow out my tresses and was just fussing at myself in the mirror.  “You really need to get that hair cut.  It would be easier to take care of and dry in the morning if you cut it.  So, what should I dry first…dry the bangs…dry the back…should I flip my head over and dry underneath…where should I start? Will I need to straighten the back after I dry it?????”  ON and ON and ON and ON, the questions just kept rushing through my head….and then, it happened…the hair dryer stopped working.  This is the point in the story that the suspenseful music would start…dun…Dun…DUn…DUN!

I stood there in my bathroom looking at that hair dryer…back to the mirror…back to the hair dryer…back to the mirror…”Oh my gosh…what am I going to do?  I can’t go around looking like Monica did in that episode of Friends!!  (See clip below)  I am not that young or petite AND, I don’t look that good in a baseball cap, besides you know she has someone that does her make-up.  What am I going to do???”

And, then it happened, that quiet voice inside my soul made His presence known, “Hey, you in the mirror…calm down and listen up.  You are not defined by this mess on your head.   Your hair is not who you are!  I have told you that you are not defined by the wrong you have done.  I have told you that you are not defined by the wrong that has been done to you.  I have told you that you are not defined by other people in your life.  I have told you that you are not defined by even that loud voice that is screaming in your ear right now…”My hair dryer is broken!!!”  You are not defined by any of those things, you are defined by me!  You handed all those broken pieces over to me and I took what you thought was defining you and turned it into a ministry and that is what defines you now!  And oh, by the way, you have another hair dryer in the other bathroom vanity AND I love you just the way you are; curly hair and all!”

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for loving me for me!  Thank you for reminding me that it is You who defines me and that I must keep my eyes on You.   I am so glad that you took that what was broken inside me and turned it into something beautiful that can be used for Your glory.  Help me to remember that I am moving forward to my ultimate goal…eternal life with You! 

In Jesus name,

Amen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DeGGS6lDsMI&feature=related

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

