Posted by: heisourstrongtower | December 15, 2011

No Remote…No Problem!

Therefore, seeing we also are compassed about by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God. Hebrews 12: 1-2

I was reminded of a video I saw last night, as I was writing this blog and for some reason I feel I am supposed to use it as my opening paragraph.  It was made by David Crowder and in it he discusses a visitor in his home.  Now, at first this visitor was welcomed and David was enjoying his antics but, soon David realized that he made a huge mistake and that this little squirrel did not have the best of intentions.   David needed to get rid of this squirrel!!!

God, on the other hand is not like this squirrel.  He does not like being an uninvited guest in our homes.  He is like most of us; He wants us to welcome Him into our homes, willingly and with happy hearts.  He is not an obtrusive visitor; He will not force Himself on us, and His intentions for us are always good.

This all leads me to an examination of this statement “God is in control of everything in my life.”  Let’s pretend that we are taking a true or false test; as a Christian we would answer that this is a true statement.  But, as a person that does not believe in God; this statement would be false.  Let’s take it one step further though, some Christians might answer that this is a true statement, but if they have not turned absolute control of their lives over to God, the truthful answer would have to be false for them too.

I had an epiphany about this statement today.  God is not in control of everything in my life or in your life, unless we turn that control over to Him.  We need to be intentional everyday and hand our remote to God, give Him the power to control what we see, to control the volume, to adjust the color, to brighten the picture…until we hand Him all the power, He cannot be in control.  He can not come into our lives unless we invite Him in; God will not be the uninvited guest!

If we have not died to self, if we are holding onto control in any area of our lives, then in that part of our life, God in not in charge; we are in the captain’s seat.  He cannot control what we have not handed Him.  He also has no control over other people in our lives that are refusing to die to self.  We sometimes become victims of family members, friends, acquaintances and even strangers who are denying God’s sovereignty over their lives.  He has given us free choice and that means in any area of our lives that we are not releasing to him, He has no power.

Now, do you want the good news?  I know that I do….God can take those things that we have messed up because we did not release them to him and make something beautiful from our messes.  He can make something beautiful out of the messes that other people’s selfish actions have caused in our lives too.  How, you ask?  It is really quite simple; we turn it all over to Him.  We relinquish our control in our lives, in all areas, and turn it all over to Him.  Instead of trying to clean up our own and other people’s messes, we let it go, give it all to Him and watch Him work His magic.

Whew, what a relief!  I don’t have to do a thing to make this right but, give Him my remote and let Him program my life.  I just need to remember to take my hands off and stop trying to change the channel or re-write the script He has written for my life.  He is the author and the finisher of my life and for yours.  I say, bring on the squirrels…God and I are ready!!  Are you???

Dear Jesus,

I give You control over my life.  I hand the remote to You and trust in the direction that You want to take me.  I will do my best to let You direct my path and take my hands off.  I mess up too much when You are not in control.  I wonder why things aren’t going the way I want them to go. I forget to stop and ask what You want, Lord. Please help me to give You control, Jesus. I want to follow You.  I want what You desire for me.  I want to concentrate on living to please You and not on trying to figure out to fix everything and everyone in my life.  Help me, dear Jesus, be who and what You want me to be. Give me strength, faith and hope, and most of all, give me guidance each and every day. I let go and give You control.

In Jesus name, Amen

Responses

  1. Well Patti, great analogy right there! Keep my hands off me remote!! This will be going in the prayer journal, need to turn control over to HIM first thing when I wake up and before I go to sleep at night. I need to drop it like it’s hot!! HE knows what HE is doing!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

