Posted by: heisourstrongtower | December 1, 2011

Commitment

Today is December 1, 2011 and it is a new day!  God’s promises, grace and His mercy they are NEW every morning.  That is a commitment that God has made to each one of us; it is one of His many vows to His people.

Lamentations 3:22-24

“God’s loyal love couldn’t have run out,
his merciful love couldn’t have dried up.
They’re created new every morning.
How great your faithfulness!
I’m sticking with God (I say it over and over).
He’s all I’ve got left.”

Yesterday one of the other Admins posted a question to our group, “Ladies, this might sound like a strange question… When you hear the word commitment what do you think about? What definition pops into your head?”  There were lots of definitions and opinions on the word “commitment” offered; promise, vow, chore, obligation, perseverance.  Some admins said that when they heard that word it made them think about times when someone has committed to do something for them and they were let down or the times when they let other people down by not following through with their own commitments.

This morning I went to one of my prayer journals.  It offers me a short devotion with a verse and I opened it up and, “God wink” moment, this is what I saw;

Commitment

Checks and Balances

“You have kept your promises to your servant David my Father; with your mouth you have promised (committed) and with your hand you have fulfilled it-as it is today.”  2 Chronicles 6:15

“Our Father, how often good intentions open our mouths and promises flow out without consideration of how much time we really have to give.  Promises of the mouth are easy; they take a second to make.  Keeping those promises is hard.  Fulfilling them takes more than a second.  We often fail to keep promises.  I’m so grateful You set the example.  You humble us with Your fulfilled promises.  You want us to be better people.”

Reading these words started me thinking.  I remembered all the posts that I had read yesterday and how sometimes we see a word and, we limit ourselves to defining it by our flaws or the flaws that we see in others.  We need to stop that, we need to let God define what our words should mean.

He has promised us many things and He has fulfilled those promises.  Jesus was committed to pay the price of our sins for us.  He did not owe it because He was sinless, but He had made a vow to His Father.  A vow that He was willing to take for a commitment He could only fulfill.  He did not see it as an obligation or a chore; He saw it as a loving sacrifice that was necessary to save you and me.

I have accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior, which means I am committed to serve Him.  I am convicted to live in His example.  I am going to look at the word, “committed” as a Holy word from this day forward.  I am going to be careful about the commitments that I make to other people and I am going to be careful about the commitments I accept from other people.  Commitment is a Holy word, a God word and I will no longer take it lightly.

Dear Lord my God;

I, Thank you, Jesus for fulfilling God’s commitment to me.  I will try to live up to the example that you have set for me.  Commitment is sacred, commitment is Holy and commitment is love.  Because You committed to save the world, Jesus came to earth and was born to a Virgin.  He lived and He walked among men for 33 years and then He committed himself to hang on the cross and, suffer, so that I can have everlasting life.  I am convicted because Jesus was committed.  In Jesus name, Amen.

Today is a new day and I am declaring this day as “Commitment Thursday.” I am only going to ask you to think about that word and how God wants you to apply it in your own life. If you want to share what God is showing you through that word, I would love to hear about it. Because I have made to each of you a Holy, Sacred and loving commitment to be here when you need me. (((hugs)))

Responses

  1. WOW WOW WOW! I was one who personally can’t stand that word committed. I spent alot of time yesterday thinking about that word. Came to this conclusion, I don’t like that word because I have failed at keeping just about everything I have ever “committed” to. I have been on a weighloss journey-I have quit numerous times before the goal was reached. I was married, I am now divorced. I started college, going to get a degree, I quit. I bought a house, it was foreclosed on because of MY poor choices. I have filed bankruptcy, not once but twice. I have refused to get into relationships because I know they mean nothing really. The list could go on! Thanks to this blog I will see commitment a totally different way. A sacred word, an “action” word that will not be thrown around lightly by me any longer. I am committed to my FATHER, not perfect but committed to keep growing in HIM and do my best.


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

