Posted by: heisourstrongtower | November 14, 2011

We are not Called to Worry!

I finished reading chapter 9 last night and I have to confess that I am a recovering worrier.  If worry could win blue ribbons, I could paper every wall in my house with them.  I know that worry can rob you of more than just your rest too.  Worry can rob you of your ability to enjoy life, worry can rob you of time with your family, worry can prevent you from doing a good job at work, worry can take over your life and put you in a dark corner where you are unable to trust anyone, even God.  I also know that worry is a Sin!   I know that when I worry I am saying to God,” I do not trust you to handle this situation.”

As a recovering worrier, I have to boss myself around every day to keep my anxiety at bay!  When something happens and the only thing I want to do is worry, I have to remind myself that God did not make me this way.  He wants me to cast my burdens on Him because He will sustain me. (Psalm 55:22)  I grabbed myself by my shirt collar and told myself, “Do not be anxious about anything, Patti, take this to the Lord in prayer and turn your request over to God.  He wants you to share your burdens with Him; He wants to give you his peace that passes your own understanding.  Let him guard your heart and take your thoughts captive.” (Philippians 4:6-7)

It is a daily battle for me but, I have learned that My heavenly Father loves me and does not want me to be unhappy or anxious.  I am not made to live in Fear, I was fearfully and wonderfully made to live in the light of His word and promises.

Lord Jesus, please forgive me for those times that I have allowed worry to rule my life.  When I worry I am displaying a lack of faith and it is not possible to please you without faith.  Father, please forgive me for living from a worldly perspective rather than Your eternal perspective.

I will take my burdens off of my shoulders and place them into Your capable hands.  I will cast all of my care onto You because You care for me.

Father, in the name of Jesus I bind my anxious thoughts out of my life.  I make every thought captive to the obedience of Christ.  And in its place I loose the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, which would guard my heart and mind through Christ Jesus (Phil 4:7).

Father, you promise to keep me in perfect peace, if I keep my mind on you, and if I trust in you.  I make this my declaration:  I will fix all my thoughts on You because I trust in You.  I have faith that you can move the mountains.  Thank you for being my King of Kings and my Lord of Lords.

In Jesus Name, Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

