Posted by: heisourstrongtower | April 7, 2012

Jesus Calling April 7th…He is the Potter!

“I AM THE POTTER; you are My clay. I designed you before the foundation of the world. I arrange the events of each day to form you into this preconceived pattern. My everlasting Love is at work in every event of your life. On some days your will and Mine flow smoothly together. You tend to feel in control of your life when our wills are in harmony. On other days you feel as if you are swimming upstream, against the current of My purposes. When that happens, stop and seek My face. The opposition you feel may be from Me, or it may be from the evil one.

Talk with Me about what you are experiencing. Let My Spirit guide you through treacherous waters. As you move through the turbulent stream with Me, let circumstances mold you into the one I desire you to be. Say yes to your Potter as you go through this day.”

Isaiah 64:8 “But now, O Lord, You are our Father; We are the clay, and You our potter;
And all we are the work of Your hand.

Psalm 27:8 “When You said, “Seek My face,” My heart said to You, “Your face, Lord, I will seek.”

One of my favorite craft projects; as a child, as a Mom and now as a Mae Mae (my grandma name), was and is making our own play dough and using it to create different items. I am no sculptress by any stretch of the imagination but, I enjoy the process and when they don’t come out quite right…my fist can quickly flatten the mistakes I see in what I made and I can start over. My children and grandchildren do the same thing, they make something and if it doesn’t come out quite right they smash it and start over.

God did not have to die to self on the cross for our sins. After all, He is the potter and we are His clay. There was that one time when God did destroy most of this world, through His displeasure and anger at what His people were doing with their lives. And, even though He promised to never do it again…He could have done it again. He could have flattened us and started over with new people, better people, people who would not sin. But, that is not the God we serve. We do not serve a God who flattens us when we make a mistake. Our mistakes may flatten us but, God does not. His heart breaks for the pain and suffering we put ourselves through.

God loves us so much, even before we were born, that He came to this earth and He literally died to self so He could save what He loved. Again, God did it before He ever asked us to do it. God had to come to this earth as a human; while He did have other options…He wanted to set the example for us to follow.

“There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” John 15:13

God is the role model we are to follow. His everlasting love for us placed Jesus on the cross to die for our sins. How can we continue to fight against what He wants for our lives? His love for me is so great and I have to believe that must mean His plans for me are just as great. When you love someone you want them to have the best from this world…that does not mean always handing them everything they want. For God it means fulfilling all of our needs and directing us on the correct path. He does not want us to spend our days swimming against the currents…we were made to swim with the currents…we were made to swim beside our lifeguard. In case we get into trouble He is much easier to find when we are swimming in sync with God, Synchronized Swimming with God, now that is an Olympic Moment!!!!

Spend time with Him! Share with Him what is on your heart…have a conversation with your Abba Father

I started writing this devotion last night and while I had a good starting point it just would not gel…it was like I was swimming against the currents. I talked to Him about it…it was more of a one way conversation last night and I got frustrated with myself and, shut everything down for the night. I woke up this morning with the same basic idea but a new perspective and as I read some devotions this morning…God made His direction very clear. He has been very faithful to me throughout this journey and I want to thank Him for always providing me with the words to share. He gets all the honor and the glory; because without Him I would still be sitting in a chair wishing I could write something not actually writing it.

Dear Jesus,
Please hear my prayer. I go along each day, trying to run my life my own way. I forget to let go and give you control. I wonder why things aren’t going the way I want them to go. I forget to stop and ask what you want, Lord. Please help me to give you control, Jesus. I want to follow you. I want what you desire for me. Help me to realize that when you close one door, you open the one you want me to walk through. Help me also to realize that what I desire may not be what is meant for me, or what is best for me. Maybe it will lead me away from what your great plan is for me. Lord, let me accept each day as a gift. Let me follow the path you choose for me. Help me to be thankful for what you give me and not to worry about my needs. I trust you will take care of all my needs. Remind me that my role is to care for those around me and focus on those who need my help.
Help me not to be judgmental, as we are all equal in God’s eyes. Help me to see the good in all of your creations. Let me leave the judging to you, dear Jesus. Instead, I will concentrate on living to please you! Help me, dear Jesus, be who and what you want me to be. Give me strength, faith and hope, and most of all, give me guidance each and every day. I let go and give you control.

In Jesus name,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

heisourstrongtower

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life!

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips) **Facebook.com/MattWalshBlog

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

Roger Tharpe

a voice crying out into the wilderness

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Sharing the Love of Christ

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

